Saftas 2012: The winners

2012-03-12 07:42

The winners of the 2012 South African Film and Television Awards were announced during a gala event at Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg on Friday and Saturday.

See the full list of winners.

Best Director on a TV Soap

Alex Yazbek, Johnny Barbuzano (The Wild)

Best Actor in a TV Soap
Tumisho Masha as Modise Tladi (The Wild)

Best Actress in a TV Soap
Karin van der Laag as Maggie (Isidingo)

Best Ensemble on a TV Soap
Isidingo (Endemol South Africa)

Best Writing Team on a TV Soap
Rhythm City (Charlie Sapadin and Team)

Best Technical Team on a TV Soap
The Wild

Best Art Direction on a TV Soap
The Wild (Marlene Ming)

Best Post Production Team on a TV Soap

Best TV Soap (Public vote)

Best Youth & Children Programme
Jam Alley Crew vs Crew (Red Pepper)

Best Factual/Educational Entertainment
Made in China (Born Free Media)

Best News & Actuality Programme
Speak Out (Red Pepper)

Best Magazine Programme
All Access Mzansi EP 3 and 14 (Homebrew Films)

Best Variety Show
Studio 1 (Magic Factory)

Best Music Show
Club 808 (Red Pepper)

Best Talk Show
Tonight with Trevor Noah (Urban Brew Studios)

Best Reality Show
Jam Sandwich (Meerkat Media and Mahala Media)

Best Game Show
Kom Ons Karaoke (Urban Brew Studios)

Best TV Drama Series
Intersexions (Curious Pictures)

Best Director on a TV Drama Series
Intersexions EP 4 & 20 (Rolie Nikiwe)

Best Actor in a TV Drama Series
Siyabonga Radebe as “Muzi” (Intersexions)

Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama Series
Ronnie Nyakale as “Khaya Ncube” (Fallen)

Best Actress in a TV Drama Series
Lungelo Dladla as “Buhle” (Intersexions)

Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama Series
Harriet Manamela as “Ntombi Ntshebe” (Sokhulu & Partners)

Best Writing Team in a TV Drama Series
Linda Bere, Brent Quinn and team (Intersexions EP 20)

Best DOP/Cinematographer in a TV Drama Series
Trevor Calverley (Intersexions EP 8)

Best Editor on a TV Drama Series
Melanie Golden (Intersexions EP 20)

Best Production Design in a TV Drama Series
Intersexions (Marna Heunis)

Best Music Composition in a TV Drama Series
Sue Lubner (Intersexions)

Best Costume Design in a TV Drama Series
Nadia Kruger, Phillipa Heydenrych, Themba Qongo (Zone 14)

Best Make-up & Hair Stylist in a TV Drama Series
Smartie Olifant (Intersexions)

Best Sound Design in a TV Drama Series
Janno Muller, Tim Pringle (Intersexions EP 4)

Best Director on a TV Comedy
Harald Richter (Proesstraat)

Best Actor in a TV Comedy
Boikie Pholo as “Ratau” (Ga Re Dumele)

Best Actress in a TV Comedy
Meme Ditshego as “Josephine” (Ga Re Dumele)

Best Ensemble
Stokvel (Penguin Films)

Best Post-Production Team In TV Comedy
Gauteng Maboneng, EP 5

Best Technical Team in a TV Comedy
Gauteng Maboneng, EP 1

Best Art Direction on a TV Comedy
Gauteng Maboneng (Martha Sibanyoni)

Best Writing Team on a TV Comedy
Proesstraat (Harald Richter and team)

Best TV Comedy
Gauteng Maboneng (Engage-Entertainment)

Best Documentary Editor
Ronelle Loots (Robert Mugabe – What Happened)

Best Documentary Cinematographer
Ryley Grunenwald (The Dawn of a New Day)

Best Director in a Documentary
Ryley Grunenwald (The Dawn of a New Day)

Best Documentary Feature
Surfing Soweto (Cinga Productions)

Best Documentary Short
Made in China (Born Free Media)

Best Producer in a Wildlife Programme
Peter Lamberti, Phil Fairclough, Benjamin Hewett (Cameramen Who Dare – Shark Swarm)

Best Wildlife Editor
Elmien Fourie (Crocodile Ganglands)

Best Wildlife Cinematographer
Dereck Joubert (Big Cat Odyssey)

Best TV Wildlife Programme
Big Cat Odyssey (Wildlife Films)

Best Student Film

Umkhumbi Wethu – Our Ship (AFDA)

Best Short Film
Dirty Laundry (Stealth Donkey Moving Pictures)

Best Animation
Jungle Beat: This Little Light of Mine (Sunrise Productions)

Best Director
Oliver Hermanus (Skoonheid)

Best Actor
Deon Lotz as Francois van Heerden (Skoonheid)

Best Supporting Actor
Patrick Mofokeng as Willie (Master Harold and the Boys)

Best Supporting Actress
Desire Gardner as Erika Rademan (Roepman)

Best Writing Team
Timothy Greene (Skeem)

Best Cinematographer
Giulio Biccariu (Black Butterflies)

Best Editor in a Feature Film
Adam Broer, Tanja Hagen (Paradise Stop)

Best Production Designer
Darryl Hammer (Black Butterflies)

Best Music Composition
Phillip Miller (Black Butterflies)

Best Costume Designer
Ree Donnelly (Black Butterflies)

Best Make-Up/Hair Stylist in a Feature Film
Raine Nicholette Edwards (Black Butterflies)

Best Sound Designer
Simon Ratcliffe (Retribution)

Best Feature Film
Black Butterfies (Spier Films)

– Channel24/tvsa

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24


12 Cool cat facts

Here are some surprising things you may not know about your fascinating feline



Chocolate can be fatal for dogs
Spider-man star's adorable relationship with his dog
Do you know what you are feeding your dog?
Watch: Proof animals have souls
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.