Scandalous intrigue

2011-07-13 00:00

THE focus of Justin Cartwright’s new novel, Other People’s Money, is a London-based private bank, founded in 1671, and owned by the prosperous Tubal-Trevelyan family ever since. However, it is the time of the recent recession, and the bank is in serious difficulties.

The situation is compounded by the condition of the illustrious ­proprietor, Sir Harry Tubal-Trevelyan, who has had a stroke, that has necessitated his retirement to his property in Provence.

Of his two sons, one, Simon, has escaped the omnipotence of his ­father by becoming a serial adventurer to exotic locations, and the other, Julian, is reluctant to assume his father’s mantle. Given his brother’s absenteeism, however, Julian has no option and, faced with the imminent demise of the bank, he is forced to resort to dire measures. Banking, he realises, has made him a liar and a fraudster.

While Julian’s subterfuge and his efforts to keep things silent and secretive form the core of the novel, Cartwright gives the reader a glimpse into the lives of the super-rich, who exist somehow in private spaces separated from the world by their money and in a position to manipulate those who have little.

Colourfully, Cartwright creates the struggling Artair MacCleod, a playwright and actor-manager whose ex-wife, Fleur, is the current (unfaithful) Mrs Harry Tubal-Trevelyan. The antithesis of the Tubal-Trevelyan type, MacCleod is working on a script that he believes is a masterpiece suitable for the talents of Daniel Day-Lewis. The fact that his quarterly grant (a ­divorce settlement) from Tubal & Co fails to materialise is indicative of the woes of the bank, which also become known to a young freelance journalist, Melissa Tregarthen, when she receives unsolicited information regarding the shenanigans of its owners.

Cartwright begins his novel with a list of the guests at the thanksgiving service for the life of Sir Harry Tubal-Trevelyan at St Paul’s ­Cathedral. Carefully read, the names — in the tradition of Joyce and Scott Fitzgerald — reveal considerable information. He ends by reminding us that there are “many ways of telling the same story.” As a master in his field, he has selected his particular Cartwrightian way. It works well. The novel is topical, the satire biting, the outcomes not without surprises.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
0 comments
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

 
/Sport
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.
 
English
Afrikaans
isiZulu

Hello 

Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.


Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.

Settings

Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.




Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.