Malema site links to DA
2009-02-27 14:19
Verashni Pillay
Cape Town - A prankster has set up a domain for www.malema.co.za, which links to the Democratic Alliance website.
The domain, which was registered in September last year, has started doing the rounds in a chain e-mail.
The URL refers to the ANC Youth League president, Julius Malema.
Malema is often in the news thanks to his controversial statements, and has been the butt of a radio prank call in the past.
Deloitte security and privacy consultant, Dominic White, told News24 that the domain was owned by a false company called "Not the ANC".
The prankster, who remained unidentified, was using a free service called EveryDNS.Net to redirect browsers to www.da.org.za.
The DA's new look site was launched last week. Party spokesperson, Paul Boughey told News24 the DA was not aware of the prank. "It has nothing to do with us," he said.
"But as far as we're concerned it's probably a good thing because it will generate more traffic to the site."
All domain names have to be registered, according to White. The "company" in this case gave a gmail.com e-mail address. An e-mail from News24 was delivered to the address, but no reply was received.
"If legal proceedings were followed, Google's details on the owner of the e-mail address could be attached to a warrant," said White, referring to possible prosecution of the person responsible for the domain.
ANCYL spokesperson Floyd Shivambu said the organisation was not aware of the domain. Malema was not available for comment.
--
On the web:
·See the malema.co.za domain information here.
·See more from Dominic White on this here.
- News24