Vilakazi scoops big awards

By Drum Digital
19 May 2014

Wits midfield Sibusiso Vilakazi was the biggest winner in the PSL season awards.

Wits midfield general Sibusiso Vilakazi was the biggest winner in the Premier Soccer League 2013/2014 season awards on Sunday evening.

Vilakazi walked away with the Footballer of the Season Award which carries R250,000, Player's Player of the Year award worth R150,000 and the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament award worth R150,000 -- banking a total of R550,000 in one night.

The Footballer of the Season award was voted by the Premier Division coaches.

Other notable winners were Ajax Cape Town player Keagan Dolly who was voted the Premiership Young Player of the Season.

Last season's Footballer of the Season Itumeleng Khune was once again among the winners as he took home the Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season.

Hlompho Kekana's goal against Orlando Pirates on February 8 was voted as the Goal of the Season.

Robert Ng'ambi, meanwhile, was voted the MTN8 Last Man Standing and Mogakolodi Ngele was the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament.

Award winners:


Footballer of the season - Sibusiso Vilakazi

Premiership Players' player of the season - Sibusiso Vilakazi

Goalkeeper of the season - Itumeleng Khune

Young player of the season - Keagen Dolly

Coach of the season - Pitso Mosimane

Goal of the season - Hlompho Kekana

Top scorer - Bernard Parker

Nedbank Cup:

Player of the tournament - Sibusiso Vilakazi

Most promising player of the tournament - Kwanda Mngonyama

Telkom Knockout:

Player of the tournament - Lennox Bacela


Last man standing - Robert Ng'ambi

National first division:

Top scorer - David Zulu

Match officials:

Referee of the season - Zolile Mthetho

Assistant referee of the season - Edward Madidilane


Find Love!