WhatsApp wants to share your number – here's how you can stop it

By admin
29 August 2016

You have less than 30 days to change this setting.

Have you recently received a request from WhatsApp about an upgrade from your existing version of the app?

Don't rush to accept the upgrade.

If you do and you're also a Facebook user you'd be giving Facebook and "the Facebook family of companies" access to your cellphone number, the type of phone you use and details about who you're interacting with.

Facebook, which owns WhatsApp, will then be able to record your activity on WhatsApp to better figure out which products you're more likely to buy.

According to the WhatsApp FAQ page, sharing your information with Facebook will help the two companies "coordinate more, such as to fight spam and abuse, and improve experiences across our services and those of Facebook and the Facebook family".

The new upgrade will also enable Facebook friend requests from people you interact with on WhatsApp.

The company stressed that "nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos and account information, will be shared on Facebook or any of the Facebook family of apps for others to see".

Still, it's a pretty interesting development considering WhatsApp has previously promised users they wouldn't be sharing their private info any time soon.

"We have not, we do not and we will not ever sell your personal information with anyone. Period. End of story."

And when Facebook took the reigns of WhatsApp in 2014: "WhatsApp will remain an autonomous company and will open rate independently. "

But if you don't want to turf the beloved mobile messaging app there's good news -- there's a grace period for users who'd prefer not to share their information with Facebook -- 30 days from the initial announcement, which took place on 25 August.

Incidentally, the encryption function still protects your messages on WhatsApp.

Here's a step-by-step guide to protecting your privacy when you upgrade your WhatsApp:

1. As with any contract/agreement you should always read the terms and conditions carefully.

2. Don't just click "Agree". Browse further down to where you see the box indicating your information will be shared with Facebook.

3. Disable the choice that's already been very kindly filled in on your behalf.

Don't worry if you've already accepted the upgrade without paying attention to the terms and conditions. Here's how you can fix it:

1. Open WhatsApp and go to "Settings".

settings

2. Select the "Account" option.

account

3. Click on "Privacy".

privacy

4. Various choices will appear. You'll notice that "Share my account info" is already activated on your behalf. Click on the box and the check mark will disappear.

laaste stap

Sources: WhatsApp, Wired, CNET

More top tech tips

This clever WhatsApp trick will help you avoid some awkward situations

Can you delete a WhatsApp message AFTER you send it?

Deleted WhatsApp messages can STILL be read

Find Love!

Men
Women