Madagascar names transitional government

2011-03-26 15:42

Aatananarivo - A government official says Madagascar's president has announced a new transitional government as part of a roadmap to resolve the Indian Ocean island's political crisis.

Haja Resampa Andre, secretary general of the presidency, said on Saturday that the government now has two state ministers, 29 ministers and one secretary of state.

Andre said seven ministers and the secretary of state from the former government have been reaffirmed. Andre said three members of ousted President Marc Ravalomanana's party have also been appointed.

Madagascar's leader Andry Rajoelina appointed the transitional government under an internationally mediated agreement meant to resolve the crisis set off when Rajoelina took power in Madagascar with military backing in 2009.

Under the agreement, Rajoelina stays in power until elections.