Key Gambia ministers sworn in

2017-02-01 21:57


Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Banjul - Ten of the new Gambian government's 18 ministers were sworn in Wednesday, less than a week after freshly-elected President Adama Barrow arrived in the country following a major political crisis.

In a vote in December, Barrow defeated longtime leader Yahya Jammeh, who during several weeks refused to step down.

Barrow left the country for Senegal, where he remained until Jammeh agreed to step aside and go into exile.

Among the cabinet members sworn in were Foreign Minister Ousainou Darboe, a veteran of the opposition to Jammeh's regime.

Special advisor to Barrow, Mai Fatty, was sworn in as interior minister, while the ex-treasurer of the main former opposition, Amadou Sanneh, became minister of finance.

Both Sanneh and Darboe were recently released from prison, where they were serving sentences imposed during Jammeh's 22-year iron-fisted rule.

Barrow last week chose a former minister of Jammeh's government as vice-president.

Fatoumata Jallow-Tambajang has been described as the woman who persuaded The Gambia's divided opposition parties to club together and field a single candidate in the election which Barrow eventually won.

Eight more ministers have yet to be named.

"The rest of the appointments ... will be determined based on the competences of the individuals, their experiences and their professionalism," Barrow's spokesperson Halifa Sallah told reporters.

Read more on:    yahya jammeh  |  adama barrow  |  gambia  |  west africa

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.