No parliament majority for party of new Burkina Faso leader

2015-12-03 10:35
Burkina Faso's president Roch Marc Christian Kabore. (Issouf Sanogo, AFP)

Burkina Faso's president Roch Marc Christian Kabore. (Issouf Sanogo, AFP)

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Ouagadougou - The party of Burkina Faso's newly elected president did not win a majority in parliament, and the former ruling party of the West African nation lost most of its seats in legislative elections, according to results released on Wednesday by the electoral commission.

Results show that the Movement of People for Progress party won 55 seats of the 127 voted on in Sunday's elections.

The party's candidate, Roch Marc Christian Kabore, won the presidency with an outright majority, the electoral commission said on Tuesday, becoming the country's second elected civilian leader since Burkina Faso gained independence from France in 1960.

Sunday's presidential and legislative elections were a step toward strengthening democracy in the impoverished nation where a popular uprising forced President Blaise Compaore's resignation last year. He had ruled for 27 years.

Kabore and the new parliament will take over from a transitional government.

Compaore's Congress for Democracy and Progress, the ruling party for nearly three decades, won 18 seats in parliament, down from the 70 it had before.

Burkina Faso political analyst Issiaka Lingani said that result was honorable, considering the party had lost its main leaders and was without means.

"The last coup took its toll on the party's fate," he said.

The former ruling party's assets, as well as the assets of some of its leaders, were frozen after a failed September coup by the presidential guard, which was loyal to Compaore. The guard was disbanded and its leader arrested after the transitional government was reinstalled.

The party's presidential candidate was also barred from taking part in presidential elections, according to an electoral code.

The Union for Progress and Change party of Zephirin Diabre, who came second in the presidential election, won 33 seats in parliament.

The remaining 21 seats were won by 11 other political parties. All parties have seven days to file complaints.

Read more on:    burkina faso  |  west africa  |  security

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.