ANC announces committee chairs

2014-06-12 16:23

The ANC revealed the names of the 39 MPs it would be nominating to chair Parliament’s committees in the National Assembly.

They are:

» Agriculture, forestry and fisheries: Rosina Semenya;

» Arts and culture: Xoliswa Tom;

» Basic education: Nomalungelo Gina;

» Communications: Joyce Moloi-Moropa;

» Co-operative governance and traditional affairs: Richard Mdakane;

» Defence and military veterans: Stanley Motimele;

» Economic development: Busi Coleman;

» Energy: Fikile Majola;

» Environmental affairs: Jackson Mthembu;

» Finance: Yunus Carrim;

» Health: Lindelwa Dunjwa;

» Higher education: Yvonne Phosa;

» Home affairs: Buoang Mashile;

» Human settlements: Nocawe Nafu;

» International relations and cooperation: Moses Masango;

» Justice and correctional services: Mathole Motshekga;

» Labour: Lumka Yengeni;

» Mineral resources: Sahlulele Luzipho;

» Police: Francois Beukman;

» Public enterprises: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba;

» Public service and administration: Peace Mabe;

» Public works: Ben Martins;

» Rural development and land reform: Phumzile Mabila;

» Science and technology: Bevan Goqwana;

» Small business development: Ruth Bhengu;

» Social development: Rosemary Capa;

» Sport and recreation: Beauty Dlulane;

» State security: Connie September;

» Telecommunications and postal: Mmamoloko Kubayi;

» Trade and industry: Joanmariae Fubbs;

» Transport: Dikeledi Magadzi;

» Tourism: Beatrice Ngcobo;

» Water and sanitation: Mlungisi Johnson;

» Women: Thandi Memela;

» Standing committee on appropriations: Paul Mashatile;

» Standing committee on public accounts: Themba Godi;

» Standing committee on auditor-general: Vincent Smith;

» Multi party women’s caucus: Rosalia Morutoa; and

» Ethics: Amos Masondo;

The nominated chairs will be formally elected once the committees sit for the first time.

The nominations for house chairs are Cedric Frolick, Thoko Didiza and Mmatlala Boroto.

Didiza will also join Motshekga, Magadzi and Edwin Makue from the National Council of Provinces as members of the Judicial Service Commission.

Pallo Jordan, Thandi Memela and Litho Suka are the MPs chosen to serve on the Pan-African Parliament.

The ANC caucus chairperson is Seiso Mahai.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.