ASA constitution ‘flawed’

2012-05-20 07:01

Athletics SA (ASA) president James Evans has called for the federation to amend its constitution to avoid holding general elections just before the Olympic Games.

On Friday, shortly after ASA distributed a list of nominees ahead of its elective conference next month, he said: “There’s a lot of flaws in the ASA constitution that need to change and this is quite a serious one – that we must hold elections before the Olympics.”

Evans’ name is among the nominees for ASA president at the June 9 meeting in Kempton Park, Johannesburg.

“It’s worrying why elections must happen just before the Olympics. The constitution must be amended to be in line with the cycle similar to that of Sascoc (SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee).”

Sascoc, which will observe the ASA elections, holds its annual general meeting after the Olympics in August.

Evans received a majority vote during last year’s special meeting at which the only posts that were left vacant by the infamous ousting of the previous board were filled.

This time, all the executive positions – from president to the additional members – are going to be filled.

Positions to be contested are those of president, vice-president, 10 board members, four commissions – cross-country, road running, track and field, and athletes – and four additional members.

The nominations list, which is dominated by familiar faces, was distributed to the 17 athletics provinces on Friday to mandate their delegations ahead of the meeting in three weeks’ time.

During the ballot process, the provinces will each cast two votes, while the associate members have one vote each.

The associate members are the SA Student Sports Union, SA Masters, SA Schools Athletics (Sasa), SA National Defence Force, SA Police Service and Disability Sport SA.

The board members are also entitled to a single vote, as per the constitution.

At the previous elections, Evans beat a strong challenge from Hendrick Ramaala of the Central Gauteng Athletics, James Mokoka (Athletics Gauteng North) and Harold Adams (Boland) to the presidency post.

Others in line were Motlatsi Keikabile of Central North West, William Mokatsanyane (Sasa) and Tshifhiwa Makhoshi (Limpopo).

Keikabile was voted vice-president ahead of Ramaala.

Click to read the full nominations list.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.