Albie Morkel back in Proteas T20 squad

2014-02-17 14:30

All-rounder Albie Morkel and left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks have been called up to the Proteas T20 squad to face Australia and to play in the ICC World T20 in Bangladesh next month.

Morkel last played for the Proteas in a T20 international in October 2012 but after a strong performance for the Titans in Domestic T20 competition, was recalled to the team.

Hendricks is the new cap in the Proteas side to be captained by Faf du Plessis.

South Africa’s first T20 assignment will be a three-match series against the touring Australians next month before the side jet off to the subcontinent for the World T20 tournament.

Proteas convener of selectors Andrew Hudson said it was a straightforward decision to include Morkel in the squad.

“From an experience point of view, we all know what Albie has done around the world,” Hudson said today.

“He’s also played in the subcontinent and done well. His recent form has made it easy for us to include him in the squad.

“To finish games, perhaps to be behind David Miller, gives us a nice option at seven. I think it strengthens the team hugely.”

Hudson said Hendricks would be valuable in keeping things tight at the end of the innings.

“Hendricks’ inclusion underlines that guys who are doing well domestically can get a real look-in,” he said.

“He’s got good death-bowling skills. It’s also nice to have a number of good combinations in the side.”

The women’s squad for next month’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh was also announced today. Captain Mignon du Preez was pleased with the blend of players at her disposal.

“I’m very happy with the side, there’s plenty of experience and youngsters in the side with good talent,” said Du Preez.

“We just had a successful tour of Bangladesh and our main goal is to get to the semifinals of the competition.”

Men’s squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morné Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Women’s squad: Mignon du Preez (capt), Trisha Chetty, Moseline Daniels, Shandré Fritz, Shabnam Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Sune Luus, Nadine Moodley, Chloe Tryon, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk.

Non-travelling reserves: Yolani Fourie, Ayabonga Khaka, Yolandi Potgieter.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.