Amla steals the show at awards

2013-09-10 08:38

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Hashim Amla has been named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year, becoming the third Protea to receive the accolade on two occasions.

Amla previously won the award in 2010 and joined two other dual winners in Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011).

The right-handed batsman was also named Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year and SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year, while his historic treble century in The Oval Test against England won him the KFC So Good award last night.

“This has been another amazing year for our top players,” CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat said.

“It is not easy to keep finding special words to speak about Hashim. He has set SA record Test scores since unity against both England and Australia and he is the first player to score a Test treble century for our country.

“As if that is not remarkable enough he is also the No. 1 rated player on the ICC rankings for Test and ODI players.”

Lorgat said Amla’s attitude and humility displayed the true spirit of cricket.

“We are indeed very lucky to have a wonderful role model for our children to emulate.”

AB de Villiers picked up the Momentum ODI Player of the Year, as well as the SA Players’ Player of the Year.

Dale Steyn was named KFC T20 International Player of the Year and Kallis won the RAM SLAM delivery of the year award by dismissing his old rival, Ricky Ponting of Australia, on day one of the second Test match at the Adelaide Oval.

Marizanne Kapp was named South African Women’s Cricketer of the Year, while Kyle Abbott rounded out the international awards by being named SA Newcomer of the Year.

“Our Proteas have displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the Award winners, but all of them for a year of great performances especially at Test level,” Lorgat said.

“I warmly congratulate all our winners including those without whose contribution the game cannot be played, such as our umpires, grounds staff and scorers.”

Geoffrey Toyana was named coach of the year, in the domestic professional category, while Kyle Abbott was named Domestic Players’ Player of the Year.

Johann Louw took home the Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season award, while Richard Levi picked up the Momentum One-Day Cup cricketer of the season award and Quinton de Kock was named RAM SLAM cricketer of the season.

Professional awards:

SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

Momentum ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers

KFC: T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn

SA Players’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers

SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Hashim Amla

KFC So Good Award: Hashim Amla (treble Test century)

RAM SLAM Delivery of the Year: Jacques Kallis (dismissed Ricky Ponting on day one of second Test match against Australia at Adelaide)

SA Newcomer of the Year: Kyle Abbott

Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Johann Louw (Cape Cobras)

Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Richard Levi (Cape Cobras)

RAM SLAM Cricketer of the Season: Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions)

Coach of the Year: Geoffrey Toyana (Highveld Lions)

Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)

CSA Fair Play Award: Highveld Lions

SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Roelof van der Merwe (Titans)

Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Ayabulela Gqamane (Warriors)

CSA Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott (Bidvest Wanderers Stadium)

CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng Cricket Board

CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Shaun George

CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.