DA’s Athol Trollip gets Mazibuko’s old portfolio

2012-02-01 11:11

Former DA parliamentary leader Athol Trollip, who is now an ordinary backbencher, has been given a new role as the DA’s “shadow minister” for rural development and land reform.

This is the same portfolio held by Lindiwe Mazibuko, before Trollip was ousted by her as parliamentary leader in the DA’s mid-term caucus elections last year.

Mazibuko announced an almost complete shake-up of her “shadow cabinet” in Parliament this morning.

In a press statement on the changes, Mazibuko said she wanted the “shadow cabinet” to be “suitably diverse” and have an appropriate “generational mix”. She said her decisions came after “a far-reaching and thorough process of consultation”.

Mazibuko promised that the party would work towards “a form of constituency representation that will strengthen the link between MPs and their constituents”. She said this was because the DA “has always believed in a proportional electoral system that includes a form of direct constituency representation”.

Mazibuko has indicated that a long-term DA campaign for changes to the electoral system was on the cards. The party believes that the current system encourages MPs to be loyal to their parties, rather than the voters.

Only six DA MPs retained their old portfolios, while the MPs from the ID, which joined the DA’s caucus in August 2010, were also given DA portfolios.

Other moves include:
» Junita Kloppers-Lourens from higher education and training to science and technology;
» Manny de Freitas from transport deputy to home affairs;
» Ian Ollis from labour to transport;
» Anette Lovemore from home affairs to basic education;
» Patricia Kopane from social development to health;
» Mike Waters from health to social development;
» Stevens Mokgalapa from international relations deputy to human settlements;
» Winston Rabotapi from public works to sports and recreation;
» Geordin Hill-Lewis from public service and administration to trade and industry deputy;
» Wilmot James from higher education and training to trade and industry;
» Lennit Max from correctional services deputy to state security;
» Niekie van den Berg from communications deputy to arts and culture;
» Annelie Lotriet from arts and culture to higher education;
» Annette Steyn from rural development and land reform deputy to agriculture, forestry and fisheries;
» Marian Shinn from science and technology to communications;
» Tim Harris from trade and industry to finance;
» Sej Motau from energy to labour;
» James Lorimer from cooperative governance to mineral resources;
» Natasha Michael from communications to public enterprises;
» Anchen Dreyer from select committee on public accounts to public works;
» Stuart Farrow from transport to tourism;
» Helen Lamoela from social development deputy to women, children and people with disabilities;
» Ian Davidson, former DA chief whip, moves from no portfolio to international affairs;

Only six DA MPs retained their old portfolios. These are:
» Dene Smuts (justice and constitutional development);
» James Selfe (correctional services);
» Dianne Kolher-Barnard (police);
» David Maynier (defence);
» Marius Swart (appropriations committee);
» Gareth Morgan (water and environmental affairs)

Three ID MPs were given portfolios for the first time:
» Joe McGluwa, ID parliamentary caucus leader (presidency)
» Haniff Hoosen (economic development)
» Lance Greyling (energy)

The incorporation of the ID members “gives effect to the memorandum of understanding between the ID and the DA”, Mazibuko said.

The parties are in the process of merging and the ID will cease to exist by 2014.

» Tell us what you think: Leave your comment below or comment on our Facebook

page or on Twitter @City_Press
» Did you know? City Press has an iPad app. Find us in the app store

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.