Du Plessis to lead Proteas T20 squad

2012-12-13 11:40

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Faf du Plessis will replace AB de Villiers as the Proteas captain for three T20 Internationals against New Zealand starting next week, Cricket South Africa has announced.

Selection convenor Andrew Hudson said de Villiers was unlikely to play in all three T20 matches and they had opted for consistency through the series.

“AB de Villiers remains our first-choice captain in this format,” Hudson said after naming a 15-man squad.

“But AB is one of the players we need to rotate in the interest of his workload across all three formats and we want to have one captain for the entire series.”

Du Plessis (28) has played only four T20 Internationals, but he has 26 ODI caps and impressed on Test debut against Australia last month.

He made a ton and two half-centuries in his first two Tests, helping South Africa to a 1-0 series win Down Under.

Three new caps were included in the T20 squad – Titans opening batsman Henry Davids, and the Highveld Lions duo of teenager Quinton de Kock and spinner Aaron Phangiso.

Lions seamer Chris Morris is also technically uncapped as the T20 series he played for the Proteas against Zimbabwe earlier this year was unofficial.

“I believe we have chosen an extremely exciting squad of 15 players which will enable us both to rotate senior players and to provide opportunity to a new group of players,” Hudson said.

“All the players have been showing excellent form of late either in the Champions League T20 or the Momentum One-Day Cup and it has been very encouraging to take note of this.”

JP Duminy, Colin Ingram and Albie Morkel were not considered due to injury, while Hudson said Jacques Kallis and Hashim Amla would be rested.

“This squad is a reflection of the tremendous depth that is developing in our franchise cricket. Even without some of our senior Proteas and the inclusion of a number of new caps, there is still a good deal of experience in this squad.”

Proteas T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry David, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.