Guptas up for Drama Queens 2013

2013-10-08 14:29

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

It’s that naughty time of the year again – when the LGBTI community announces its nominations for the somewhat over-the-top Feather Awards.

There were cheers and “whoops” this morning at the Emoyeni Conference Centre in Parktown, Joburg, when the politically connected Gupta family was named as a hot contender for Drama Queen of the Year.

In a category open to public voting for the first time, they’ll be going head-to-head with Mandla Mandela and Savita Mbuli to lift the most-talked-about Feather of them all.

It’s doubtful the winners of the category will put in an appearance, but if they did, they would receive the newly designed statuette – a giant diamond.

Also eliciting a rowdy reaction was the announcement that politician Mamphela Ramphele is up against fashion designer David Tlale for Diva Extraordinaire of the Year.

Launched in 2009, the Feather Awards are billed as “an out, loud and proud celebration of individuals that inspire the gay and lesbian community”.

Not just drama queens and divas, of course, but also hotties, stylistas and role models.

The Feather Awards ceremony will be held in Joburg on November 14.

All the nominees:

Drama Queen of the Year

The Guptas

Mandla Mandela

Savita Mbuli

Best Styled Female

Azania Mosaka

Anele Mdoda

Minnie Dlamini

Best Styled Male

Maps Maponyane

Da Les

Thapelo Mokoena

Hunk of the Year

Maps Maponyane

Anga Makhubela

Pallance Dladla

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

Premier Nomvula Mokonyane

David Tlale

Mamphela Ramphele

Sports Personality of the Year

S’manga Khumalo

Itumeleng Khune

Lucas Sithole

Role Model of the Year

Thulani Madondo

Terry Pheto

Zoleka Mandela

Cutest Couple

Cameron & Thoba Sithole-Modisane

Mome & Tall Ass Mo

Minnie & Itumeleng

Hot Chick of the Year

Nomzamo Mbatha

Boity Thulo

Lalla Hirayama

Media Award of the Year

Intersexions (SABC1)

After 9 (SABC1)

Mamba Online

Fag Hag of the Year

Tamara Dey

Akhumzi Jezile

Pearl Thusi

Musician of the Year


Khuli Chana


Socialite of the Year

Samkelo Ndlovu

Lerato Sengadi

Bujy Bikwa

» To vote for the Drama Queen of the Year, SMS 47439 and vote “Feather1” for the Guptas, “Feather2” for Mandla Mandela or “Feather3” for Mbuli.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.