Ludeke’s focus on Stormers, not Boks

2012-05-30 14:48

Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke said his team his just is just focusing on the Super Rugby clash against the Stormers and not on the impending England tour, where a number of Bulls players could be in line for places in the Springbok squad.

“As a group we need to focus on the task at hand and that is what we are doing at the moment. We are not speaking about the Springbok team. We want to focus on this week and then deal with the Boks. The players are motivated and they want to play well for the team,” he said.

The Bulls made two changes to the side which lost 28-20 to the Chiefs in Hamilton last week Friday.

Lock Juandre Kruger replaces Wilhelm Steenkamp, who drops to the bench while JJ Engelbrecht is in for Johann Sadie, who drops out of the match 22 altogether.

Francios Venter earns a spot on the bench.

Ludeke also said he would not be focusing on the Stormers and their attacking deficiencies, which has seen the Cape-based franchise scoring only 21 tries in 12 matches.

Ludeke acknowledged that the Stormers’ physical defensive game will test the Bulls who, like the Stormers, have tended to go to sleep in the second half.

“For us, it is about making sure that we gain momentum. The gainline battle is going to be huge on the weekend. I don’t like to talk about other sides and their successes. What matters is that they are top of the conference and they are playing winning rugby,” Ludeke added.

The Stormers have made four changes to the side which lost 25-20 to the Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

They will be without lineout ace Andries Bekker, who is replaced in the starting 15 by De Kock Steenkamp.

Siya Kolisi makes a comeback after failing a late fitness test for the Sharks clash while Frans Malherbe gets a start at tighthead prop.

Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, JJ Engelbrecht, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Morne Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies (captain), CJ Stander, Dewald Potgieter, Juandre Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Dean Greyling
Substitutes: Willie Wepener, Rayno Gerber, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Arno Botha, Jano Vermaak, Louis Fouche, Francois Venter

Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (captain), Bryan Habana, Peter Grant, Dewaldt Duvenage, Jebb Sinclair, Rynhardt Elstadt, Siya Kolisi, De Kock Steenkamp, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Tiaan Liebenberg, Deon Carstens
Substitutes: Deon Fourie, Brok Harris, Quinn Roux, Don Armand, Nick Fenton-Wells, Louis Schreuder, Burton Francis

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.