Messi is Fifa’s player of the year

2011-01-11 09:50

Zurich – Lionel Messi’s mesmerising performances for Barcelona outweighed a disappointing World Cup, ensuring the Argentina forward was named the world’s best player of 2010.

Messi won the Fifa award for a second consecutive year yesterday, finishing ahead of Barcelona team-mates Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez.

“It’s a very special day for me,” Messi said through a translator on receiving the award at a gala ceremony in Fifa’s home city.

The 23-year-old Messi amassed 58 goals last year for an exciting Barcelona team, which retained the Spanish league title and leads the standings this season.

However, he failed to score in South Africa as Argentina exited in the quarterfinals.

Iniesta and Xavi, by comparison, starred for eventual winner Spain.

“I didn’t expect to win it today,” Messi said. “Already it’s a source of happiness to be here with my friends and even more to win it.”

Messi obtained 22.65% of the votes cast by coaches and captains of national teams plus invited journalists.

The original shortlist featured 23 players.
Andres Iniesta finished second with 17.36% and Xavi received 16.48% to finish third for the second consecutive year.

All three candidates honed their craft at Barcelona’s celebrated La Masia youth academy.

Barcelona has now provided eight winners in the 20-year history of the Fifa honour.

Messi follows former Brazil internationals Romario (1994), Ronaldo (1996 and 1997), Rivaldo (1999) and Ronaldinho (2004 and 2005).

The award was renamed this year after Fifa merged its world player award with the Ballon d’Or trophy, which had been presented to the best player in Europe by France Football magazine since 1956.

Jose Mourinho won the men’s coach award for leading Inter Milan to a treble, including the Champions League.

Mourinho beat World Cup-winning Spain coach Vicente del Bosque and Pep Guardiola of Barcelona to the inaugural honour.

The Portuguese coach guided Inter to the Italian league and cup double before leaving to join Real Madrid.

“The most important things for me are the collective titles, not the individual ones,” Mourinho said.

Brazil forward Marta won the women’s player award for a fifth consecutive year, defeating three-time German winner Birgit Prinz and Kosovo-born newcomer Lira Bajramaj.

Marta was rewarded for her outstanding season with United States women’s professional league champion Gold Pride.

She is a free agent after the Santa Clara, California, club folded in November.

“I’m looking at contracts for the league. For the time being I have nothing confirmed,” she said through a translator.

Silvia Neid won the inaugural women’s coaching award for her work with the Germany national team, which defends its World Cup title at home in July.

Also shortlisted were Maren Meinert, whose Germany Under-20 team was world champion in July, and Pia Sundhage, the Swedish coach of the United States’ Olympic champions.

Haitian football received the Fifa fair play award for its recovery from an earthquake that devastated the Caribbean island last January.

The Fifa presidential award was given to Archbishop Desmond Tutu in recognition of South Africa’s organisation of the World Cup.

Tutu praised Fifa president Sepp Blatter for his passion and determination to ensure Africa would host the tournament.

“I want to pay a very warm tribute,” the former Nobel peace prize winner said. “It is one in the eye for the Afro-pessimists.”

All three Ballon d’Or nominees featured in a World XI line-up chosen by Fifa and the FIFPro group of players’ unions worldwide.

The team consisted entirely of players from Barcelona, Real Madrid and European champion Inter.

Spain captain Iker Casillas from Madrid was chosen as goalkeeper.

In defence, Barcelona pair Carles Puyol and Gerard Pique were joined by Inter’s Maicon and Lucio.

Wesley Sneijder of Inter completed a midfield trio comprising Iniesta and Xavi. The attack teamed Messi and David Villa, who joined Barca from Valencia in May, with Madrid’s ,.

Hamit Altintop won the Puskas Award for most beautiful goal in 2010 for his volley for Turkey against Kazakhstan in a 2012 European Championship qualifying match.

The Bayern Munich midfielder connected with a right-footed shot from 18m after a left-flank corner had looped directly into his path for the ball to fly into the back of the net.

Altintop was chosen from a shortlist of 10 goals in a global online poll of more than 1 million fans.

The award is named after the late Hungary and Real Madrid great Ferenc Puskas.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.