Meyer has belief in beating All Blacks

2012-10-03 14:52

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has decided to stick with the same Springbok side that gave the Wallabies a hiding in Pretoria last week.

It takes a lot of faith to keep an unchanged side but a 24-point win would persuade any coach to stick with a set formula.

The only change is on the bench, where Coenie Oosthuizen replaces Pat Cilliers as the reserve prop.

The miserly All Blacks defence, which has shut out both Australia and Ireland, is something that Meyer is well aware of.

“This year already, there were two teams who could not score points against them,” he said.

“They want to force you into the wide channels and then counter ruck. They have got a great defence and we have to be very astute and execute the game plan very well.”

Goalkicking has been a big issue for the Boks, with 16 points missed at Loftus Versfeld. Meyer hopes that the confidence he has shown in his preferred kicker, Ruan Pienaar, will come through on Saturday.

“Ruan knows that Johan will not be ready and that he will be the kicker. Jaco Taute is also an option,” Meyer said.

“It was quite difficult for Ruan because he did not think that Johan would be injured. It is hard to call on a guy who is not mentally prepared.”

One thing the All Blacks have never struggled with is winning away from home.

The only times they came away from the republic winless was in 1998, 2000, 2004, 2005, 2009 and 2011.

In between the harvest, there have been some barren years for the Boks. That has not escaped Meyer’s mind.

“The All Blacks know how to win, even if they play badly,” he said.

“There will be a lot of tries scored, especially on the highveld, and it will suit us as well. We also want to move the ball around. They know how to play on the highveld and they know how to play away from home.”

Springbok team:
15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Patrick Lambie

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.