Nominations announced for SA Rugby Player of the Year

2013-12-12 13:41

Five members of the Springbok squad will go head-to-head for the SA Rugby Player of the Year award which will be announced early next year.

Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux, Bismarck du Plessis, Duane Vermeulen and Bok captain Jean de Villiers, the 2008 winner who led South Africa to 10 victories in 12 tests in 2013, will contest the honour.

“The nominees in the various categories are a fair reflection of what has been a very good year for South African rugby,” said SA Rugby Union (Saru) CEO Jurie Roux.

Etzebeth was also nominated in the category of Young Player of the Year. He faces competition from fellow Springboks Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi and Jan Serfontein, as well as Springbok Sevens and under-20 star Cheslin Kolbe.

Pumas try-scoring ace Rosco Speckman was nominated in two categories – the Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup First Division player of the year.

The race for Coach of the Year is between Heyneke Meyer, Jimmy Stonehouse and Brendan Venter. Their respective teams – the Springboks, the Pumas and the Sharks’ Currie Cup side were nominated for team of the year.

Cheetahs’ versatile player Le Roux, Vermeulen or Adriaan Strauss will slug it out for Super Rugby player of the year.

The nominations for best try will be finalised early in 2014 and the winners named in Johannesburg on February 12.

All the nominations for 2013 (in alphabetical order) are:

Saru Rugby Player of the Year: Jean de Villiers, Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux, Duane Vermeulen.

Young Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Jan Serfontein.

Team of the Year: Steval Pumas (Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup First Division), The Sharks (Currie Cup), Springboks.

Coach of the Year: Heyneke Meyer (Springboks), Jimmy Stonehouse (Pumas), Brendan Venter (The Sharks Currie Cup).

SA Under-20 Player of the Year: Jacques du Plessis, Cheslin Kolbe, Seabelo Senatla.

SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cornal Hendricks, Frankie Horne, Seabelo Senatla.

Super Rugby Player of Year: Willie le Roux (Cheetahs), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Duane Vermeulen (Stormers).

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions), Rosco Speckman (Pumas), Fred Zeilinga (The Sharks XV).

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), Scarra Ntubeni (Western Province), Fred Zeilinga (The Sharks).

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles), Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings), Rosco Speckman (Pumas). publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.