Panorama Tour set for hotly-contested final

2013-04-30 09:16

Today’s time trial, which is the final of the 8th MTN Panorama Tour, is set to be a heavily contested affair if yesterday’s results are anything to go by.

Just as has been the case since Saturday, there was very little time between the winners and runners up in all categories.

Overall winners, Trevor Davies and Franco Ferreira of Complete Cyclist had Shaun Ward and his Demacon EOH Elite partner Barend Burger pursue them right to the finish line.

In the end, there was just a second between the winners and runners up who pipped the third-placed team of Jaco Ferreira and Willie Smit by a mere 10 seconds at the end of the 113km-long stage three.

Today, the teams will go on a time trial with each team starting the final 20.6km set for the day in 30 minutes intervals and riding flat out to determine the ultimate winner.

Organisers warned the riders to be at least 30 minutes early at the starting pint as all riders will be called according to the order of their starting times which were issued today.

Any rider not available when their names are called will have to start at the back of the queue as no one will be pushed through once their slot has passed, which might see a rider or his team start seven or more minutes late than others.

Juanita Venter and Andrea Steyn of Cycle Lab PTA finished ahead of all the ladies for the third day running.

They clocked in at 3 hours, 42 minutes and 21 seconds.

Podium finishers in all categories:


1. Adolph Krige and Alan Gordon – 09:19’27”

2. Shaun Ward and Barend Burger – 09:19;28”

3. Jaco Ferreira and Willie Smit – 09:19’39”


1. Juanita Venter and Andrea Steyn – Cycle Lab PTA 03:42’21”

2. Pauline Cound and Sissel Vien – Forever Young 04:09’36”

3. Mia van Rooyen and Lee-Zaan Hinrichsen – 04:12’47”


1. John Wakefield and Anriette Schoeman 03:29’08”

2. Odelle Joubert and Mike Hewan 03:31;15”

3. Linda Van Den Biggelaar and Daniel Aliksente 03:44’44”

Sub Veterans

1. Alex Pavlov and Neil Bolton 03:28’53”

2. Julien Van Der Pluym and Wyatt Du Plessis 03:31’08”

3. Derek Venter and Pieter Swemmer 03:31’15”


1. Tinus Scheepers and Stefano Madies 03:29’09”

2. Samuel De Swardt and Greg Wittstock 03:30’06”

3. Scott Mckenzie and Russell De Jager 03:30’38”

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24


Man scores date with tennis superstar after Twitter bet

It’s a modern day Cinderella story, but one American man took ‘shoot your shot’ seriously in 2017.


You won't want to miss...

Who are the highest paid models of 2017?
10 gorgeous plus-sized models who aren't Ashley Graham
5 top leg exercises for men
10 best dressed men of 2017
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.