Phosa’s branch nominates Motlanthe

2012-11-12 12:44

ANC treasurer-general Mathews Phosa’s branch in Mpumalanga has finally sat for its general meeting to nominate preferred leaders for the party’s conference in Mangaung.

The Ward 30 branch in White River has accused the ANC Ehlanzeni regional executive committee of sabotaging its meetings because of its stance that it would not support President Jacob Zuma for a second term.

When it held a fundraising dinner over a month ago, Ehlanzeni secretary Pat Ngomana hastily organised a regional general council allegedly to derail the event, which Phosa attended.

The branch’s executive members were also threatened with disciplinary action, but there were no grounds to charge them. The region threatened to disband the branch but it did not.

Phosa is a former Mpumalanga premier and provincial ANC chairperson.

A branch member, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said: “It was the fourth time yesterday that we’ve been trying to convene the branch general meeting. The region was even using one branch executive member to sabotage us.

“In one incident she tore an attendance register and yesterday she even tried to mess up the nomination list so that it wouldn’t stand ... we noticed and rectified it.”

The branch member added that the region was also not pleased with the branch because it did not support Premier David Mabuza’s re-election as Mpumalanga ANC chairperson in April.

The branch has nominated: Kgalema Motlanthe (president), Mathews Phosa (deputy president), Fikile Mbalula (secretary-general), Thandi Modise (deputy secretary-general), Thenjiwe Mtintso (chairperson) and Tokyo Sexwale (treasurer-general).

Ngomana said the branch’s general meeting was valid.

“We’re not sabotaging them, and they know that they’ve not been able to sit because they were not quorating,” Ngomana said.

Ward 30’s list goes against the provincial executive committee’s (PEC) preferred leadership announced last month, which intends to retain Zuma as ANC president.

The PEC’s preferred leaders are: Zuma (president), Cyril Ramaphosa (deputy president), Baleka Mbete (chairperson), Gwede Mantashe (secretary-general), Jesse Duarte (deputy secretary-general) and Zweli Mkhize (treasurer-general).

It has the support of the women’s league and the tripartite alliance in the province.

The provincial ANC Youth League supports a change in leadership.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.