Preliminary World Cup cricket squad named

2010-12-14 11:41

Four uncapped players have been included in the preliminary squad of 30 players which was announced Tuesday by Cricket SA (CSA) for the 2011 ICC World Cup on the Asian sub-continent.

The uncapped players are Highveld Lions’ batsman Jonathan Vandiar, all-rounders Faf du Plessis of the Titans, Dean Elgar of the Knights, and seamer Ethy Mbhalati of the Titans.

There are also recalls for Titans’ batsman Jacques Rudolph and Knights’ all-rounder Johannes van der Wath.

Both have been ineligible for the past few years after signing Kolpak deals in the England county championship, but have now renounced that status.

Another player back in favour is Knights’ captain Morne van Wyk.

A final squad of 15 for the World Cup will be announced in due course, as will the squad for the Standard Bank ODI series against India.

The selectors will not be restricted to the squad of 30 in naming their final group for the World Cup.

“We indicated at the start of the season we would reward players who performed well in domestic cricket,” said selection convenor Andrew Hudson.

“There have been some highly impressive performances in the MTN40 and this has opened the door of opportunity for the likes of Du Plessis, Vandiar, Mbhalati and Van Wyk among others,” he said.

Preliminary squad: Top order batsmen: Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Hashim Amla (Nashua Dolphins), Jacques Kallis (Chevrolet Warriors), AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans), Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Loots Bosman (Nashua Dolphins), Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans), Morne van Wyk (Chevrolet Knights) and Jonathan Vandiar (bizhub Highveld Lions).

Middle-mix players: JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), David Miller (Nashua Dolphins), Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors), Albie Morkel (Nashua Titans), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Mark Boucher (Chevrolet Warriors), Thami Tsolekile (bizhub Highveld Lions), Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights) and Heino Kuhn (Nashua Titans).

Bowlers: Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors), Johan Botha (Chevrolet Warriors), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), Charl Langeveldt (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Rusty Theron (Chevrolet Warriors), Ethy Mbhalati (Nashua Titans), Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans) and Johannes van der Wath (Chevrolet Knights).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.