Seven newbies in Bafana side

2012-08-30 11:04

Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has added seven new players in his team that will take on Brazil on September 7.

Igesund announced his first squad since taking over as head coach from Pitso Mosimane.

The new-look team saw the likes of Mamelodi Sundowns captain Teko Modise, Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa, Thanduyise Khuboni, Hlompho Kekana have being left out of the team.

Moeneeb Josephs has returned to the national team after having decided to retire from international football earlier this year, while Tokelo Rantie has been left out due to his fitness levels.

Igesund said he did not beg for Josephs to make himself available after the second-choice shot stopper called an end to his international career in May.

“He said he would like to compete for a place in the national team, and I’m very happy about that,” Igesund said.

“Moeneeb has since written a letter to Safa withdrawing his retirement. I never asked him to come back, I just wanted to know why he retired.”

The team will take on Brazil in Sao Paulo on September 7 and against Mozambique in Mbombela on September 11.

Igesund emphasised that there was no room for complacency as players were selected on merit.

“Players must take pride and play with passion. I am not here to accommodate players. They have to fight for positions. Nobody is guaranteed a place in the team, they have to fight for places,” Igesund said.

The team was announced at Safa House in Nasrec, Johannesburg, Squad:

» Goalkeepers
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundown),Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates)

» Defenders
Punch Masenamela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates), Bongani Khumalo
(PAOK), Bevan Fransman (SuperSport United), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk), Nthle (UK) and Eric Matoho (Kaizer Chiefs)

» Midfielders
Kamohelo Mokotjo (Feyenoord), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows),Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam), Dean
Furman (Oldham Athletic), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Katlego Mashego (Free State Stars), Steven Pienaar (Everton), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs),

» Strikers
Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Golden Arrows), Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows), Dino Ndlovu (Maccabi Haifa)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.