Shakes Mashaba names Amajita squad to face Cameroon

2014-08-25 15:46

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

Five players have been added to the South African under-20 squad that drew 1-1 with Cameroon last weekend, national coach Shakes Mashaba has said.

Mashaba, who was still in charge of the Amajita outfit as well as the senior national side, retained the bulk of his side for Sunday’s return leg of the 2015 African Youth Championships qualifier in Polokwane.

“You all know the importance of this match and I cannot emphasise it any further. We went to Cameroon and came back with a 1-1 draw, a crucial away goal. But it doesn’t mean we will relax and defend the result,” Mashaba said.

“Football is about attacking and defending, and this second leg will be won in the first 45 minutes. The longer it stays level the riskier it becomes for us so we have to be at our best. We have to put pressure on them but also be cautious at the same time.”

Goalkeeper Dumisani Msibi, who was red-carded in Yaoundé has been replaced by Mpho Mathekga from Mamelodi Sundowns.

The other four new players in the squad are defender Tebogo Moerane from Bidvest Wits; Haashim Domingo, a midfielder with Ajax Cape Town; Mamelodi Sundowns striker Ntando Ngubane; and midfielder Phillip Ndlondlo of second division side Izinyoka FC.

Amajita were already in Polokwane preparing for Sunday’s game at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium.

The overall winner between South Africa and Cameroon qualifies for the 19th edition of the African Youth Championships which will be held in Senegal from March 8 to 22 next year.

The semifinalists at the African Youth Championships automatically book their places in the 2015 Fifa under-20 World Cup tournament in New Zealand.

SA under-20 squad:

Jethren Barr, Mpho Mathekga, Madisha Motjeka, Bongani Mathebula, Ayabulela Magqwaka (captain), Aubrey Modiba, Denwin Farmer, Khumbulani Mkhize, Tebogo Moerane, Pule Maraisane, Tlotlo Leepile, Phillip Ndlondlo, Sikhumbuzo Mazibuko, Fagrie Lakay, Ryan Christian, Sphelele Luthiuli, Morne Nel, Haashim Domingo, Dikgang Ngcobo, Tshepo Chaine, Siyanda Ngubo and Ntando Ngubane.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.