Sharks prove too much for Province

2010-10-31 14:12

Patrick Lambie came of age yesterday as he led his teammates to a comprehensive win at a jam-packed arena in Durban.

Ten years ago, almost to the day, Tony Watson etched himself in Natal rugby folklore when he scored a superb try to help the then-Natal team to their first Currie Cup title.

Lambie similarly reserved himself a place in Sharks fans’ affections with a virtuoso performance at flyhalf as he scored 25 points to lead the Sharks to their second trophy in three years.

The 20-year-old former Michaelhouse pupil seemed to have so much time to make decisions, always the sign of a quality player, as he helped himself to two tries, three conversions and two penalties.

Lambie’s dream day was capped by the announcement that he had been included in the Springbok squad for their tour of the UK.

The home team seemed destined to lift the trophy from the moment they ran onto the field to a spine-tingling reception from the 52?443-strong crowd.

In the 13th minute Lambie stamped his class on the encounter when he ghosted through a gap before handing off two would-be tacklers on his way to a try under the posts.

Lambie then nailed two penalties as the Sharks roared into a 23-3 lead after just 23 minutes.

Fittingly it was Lambie that put the game beyond Province when he scooped up a loose ball five metres from the Western Cape team’s tryline to dive over in the dying minutes of the contest.

Western Province simply could not live with the Sharks’ fast-paced, ball-in-hand approach, which starved the visitors of possession during the first half.

Province only crossed their opponents’ tryline once late in the first half when captain Schalk Burger collapsed and was mauled over for a five-pointer.

With 15 minutes left the home crowd began to sense that victory was within their grasp and every Sharks substitute was afforded a standing ovation.

Lambie then scored the only points of the second half to kill off any hopes Province had of a first Currie Cup title in 10 years.

Springbok squad – Forwards: Victor Matfield (capt), Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe.

Backs – Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Francois Hougaard, Bryan Habana, Elton Jantjies, Ricky Januarie, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.