Tutu gets $1m Mo Ibrahim prize

2012-10-04 14:33

Nobel Peace Prize laureate Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu has been awarded a “once-off” special prize by the Mo Ibrahim Foundation.

“In everything he stands for, everything he says, and everything he does, he displays a consistent obligation to give a voice to the voiceless and to speak the uncomfortable truths,” said Mo Ibrahim in Joburg today.

He said the special prize was motivated by the desire to create an extraordinary prize for an “outstanding civil society champion”.

Ibrahim is a British mobile communications entrepreneur and billionaire. His foundation supports African leadership that improves the economic and social prospects of the people of Africa.

The special award, which carries a cash prize of $1 million (R8.5 million), would be presented to Tutu in Dakar, Senegal, at the 2012 Ibrahim Forum.

In August, Tutu made headlines when he withdrew his attendance at a Discovery leadership summit, because former British prime minister Tony Blair was speaking at the same event.

At the time, Tutu said Blair’s decision to support the United States’ military invasion of Iraq, on the basis of unproven allegations of the existence in Iraq of weapons of mass destruction, was morally indefensible.

Last month, he called for Blair and former US president George Bush to face prosecution at the International Criminal Court for their roles in the 2003 United States-led invasion of Iraq.

Also last month, the retired Anglican Church’s archbishop said democracy in South Africa had turned into a nightmare.

“But I ask myself, why were we in the struggle? The highest price was paid for freedom, but are we treating it as something precious?” he asked.

Ibrahim said today that Tutu’s integrity deserved recognition.

“We hope this award will inspire the next generation.”

Ibrahim said the award was not a replacement of the Ibrahim Prize for Achievement but rather “reflected the assessment” of the Achievement Prize.

The Ibrahim Prize for Achievement is awarded to African heads of state who have excelled in their reign in office. It aims to recognise good and responsible governance.

Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique was the first to be awarded the prize in 2007 while Botswana’s Festus Mogae was awarded the prize in 2008.

Pedro Pires, the former president of Cape Verde, was the recipient last year. No award was granted in 2009.

In 2007, former president Nelson Mandela became an Honorary Laureate for his role in South Africa and the African community.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.