Voting begins in Western Cape by-elections

2014-11-26 12:38

By-elections in the Western Cape got off to a steady start today.

Electoral officers said voters started queuing at voting stations at about 6am.

“The voting tempo will slow down during the morning. However, we are expecting more voters to arrive at around lunchtime and then again after 6pm when people return from work,” said Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) regional organiser in the Overberg, Essie Fortuin.

At some voting stations, such as at the Gerald Wright Hall in Grabouw, about 100 people waited outside hoping to vote before going to work.

Four by-elections are scheduled to take place in the Western Cape. One by-election is uncontested.

In Theewaterskloof municipality, ward 11 is contested by Enrico Oosthuizen of the African National Congress (ANC), Lydia Matomela of the Democratic Alliance (DA), and Simbongile Majelo of the United Democratic Movement.

The ward was previously represented by the DA and became vacant after the councillor resigned.

Electoral officer Stiffie Cronje said three mediators were on duty in case tempers flared.

He said allegations that more than 500 voters were registered in the ward but not living there any more had been investigated by the IEC.

“We used sophisticated equipment determining the GPS co-ordinates of addresses of all the voters registered in ward 11. We found that only 24 of them were actually not living in the ward,” said Cronje.

“We tried to contact them to inform them that they are no longer eligible to vote. However, most of them had either moved elsewhere or were not available.”

Ward 2 in the Overstrand municipality is being contested by Juan Lewis of the ANC and Riana de Coning of the DA.

The ward was previously represented by a DA councillor who resigned.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) is contesting ward 5 in Overstrand for the first time.

Samuel Nywebeni of the EFF and Sicelo Gxamesi of the ANC are contesting the ward. The ward was represented by an ANC councillor who died.

Ward 7 in Overstrand is uncontested. David Botha of the DA is the only candidate. The previous DA councillor resigned.

Voting stations were opened at 7am and would remain so until 9pm.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.