Ward successfully defends Panorama Tour title

2013-05-01 09:56

Shaun Ward kept his word when he successfully defended his MTN Panorama Tour title at the end of the four-day event.

Ward told City Press after stage two on Sunday that he would make up the time in Monday’s stage three and yesterday’s time trial to retain the title he had won last year.

True to form, Ward and partner Barend Kruger blitzed yesterday’s 20.6 kilometres in 31 minutes, 24 seconds to be crowned overall winners.

“I was quite confident right through and told Barend that we need to keep getting podium finishes through the three stages and then go flat out yesterday, as it was do or die,” he said afterwards.

“I enjoyed every day of the race,” said Kruger.

“The organisers were very hospitable. I found Shaun to be a great guy, in spite of what people told me about him. I will definitely join him again next year if he still wants me as a partner.”

The pair clocked in with a time of 9 hours, 50 minutes and 52 seconds overall.

Juanita Venter and partner Andrea Steyn of Cycle Lab PTA were outstanding over the four days, finishing on top and maintaining their lead right through to be crowned the overall winners in the women’s competition.

Ownsurance Office PFS’s Jaco Ferreira and Willie Smit finished yesterday’s time trial in 32 minutes and 37 seconds to come second overall.

Just more than a minute behind them were Adolph Krige and Alan Gordon.

The 24-year-old Kriege, who had finished his eighth race said: “The vibe at this race is so good that I can’t afford not being here. I can assure you that I will be here next year.”

» Podium finishers in all categories:


1. Shaun Ward and Barend Kruger – 09:50’52”

2. Jaco Ferreira and Willie Smit – 09:51’16”

3. Adolph Krige and Alan Gordon – 09:52’21”


1. Juanita Venter and Andrea Steyn – 10:34’55”

2. Pauline Cound and Sissel Vien – 10:38’03”

3. Mia van Rooyen and Lee-Zaan Hinrichsen – 11:59’20”


1. John Wakefield and Anriette Schoeman – 10:00’07”

2. Odelle Joubert and Mike Hewan – 10:13’53”


1. Tinus Sheepers and Stefano Madies – 09:57’51”

2. Samuel De Swardt and Greg Wittstock – 09:59’25”


1. Willem van den Berg and Manfred Reinhart – 10:25’28”

2. Johan Spies and Charles Nienaber – 10:25’28”

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.