Welcome to the 'South African Mafikizolo Awards'

2014-04-28 23:59

Afropop duo Mafikizolo sealed their comeback with eight wins at the South African Music Awards in Sun City, prompting a Twitter user to rename the SAMAs the "South African Mafikizolo Awards" in their honour.

Here is the list of today’s winners:

Best Pop Album

Mafikizolo, Reunited

Beste Pop Album

Karlien van Jaarsveld, Uitklophou

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Shaun Jacobs, Love Can

Best Rock Album

Van Coke Kartel, Bloed. Sweet & Trane

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Elvis Blue, Afrikaans

Best African Adult Album

Zonke, Give And Take Live

Best Alternative Album

Nakhane Tour, Brave Confusion

Best RnB, Soul and Reggae

The Soil, Reflections Live In Joburg

Best Kwaito Album

Big Nuz, Made in Africa

Best Rap Album

iFani, I Believes In Me

Best Traditional Faith Music

Rebecca Malope, Bayosikhomba

Best Dance Album

Mi Casa, Su Casa

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Nqubeko Mbatha, Sentiments of a Worshiper

Best Traditional Album

Dr Thomas Chauke/Na Shinyori Sisters, Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Maskandi Album

Thokozani Langa, Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album

Shane Cooper, Oscillations

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album

Guy Buttery, Live In KwaZulu

Best Live DVD

Zonke, Give and Take Live

Best Collaboration

Mafikizolo Ft May D – Happiness

Music Video of the Year

The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage: Sleepwalker

Best Producer of the Year

Darryl Torr, Yes/No/Grey

Best Engineer of the Year

Peter Auret, Pimp My Piano

Remix of the Year

Oskido, Tsa Ma Ndebele

Best Newcomer

Naima Kay, Umsebenzi

Best Selling Album

Zahara, Phendula

Best Selling DVD of the Year

Joyous Celebration, Grateful Volume 17

Best Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year

Mafikizolo, Khona

Best Selling Ring-Back Tone of the Year

Mafikizolo, Khona

Best Selling Full-Track Download of the Year

Mafikizolo, Khona

Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2013

DJ Kent ft The Arrows, Spin My World Around

Record of the Year

Mafikizolo, Khona

Duo or Group of the Year

Mafikizolo, Reunited

Female Artist of the Year

Zahara, Phendula

Male Artist of the Year

Kabomo, Memory Remains

Album of the Year

Mafikizolo, Reunited

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.