‘We’re about to hand over control of the SABC to the ANC’

2013-09-19 18:06

The National Assembly has endorsed the nomination of 12 people for the new SABC board despite criticism from opposition parties.

The DA, Congress of the People and Inkatha Freedom Party opposed the move, forcing a vote.

The ANC had its way as the ballot saw 203 MPs voting in favour of the 12 nominees, while 78 voted against them. There was one abstention.

Earlier, loud heckling was heard from opposition benches when Parliament’s communications portfolio committee chairperson Sikhumbuzo Kholwane took to the podium and defended the appointment of ANC-aligned nominees.

“I’m convinced that the calibre of candidates is testament to the quality of depth our country is blessed with,” he said.

“It (the proposed board) reflects the kind of patriotism needed to drive our country forward,” he said.

On the skills of board members, Kholwane said he was convinced they chose the “right people for the job”.

“They are experienced enough ... and this is a very strong team.”

Kholwane said there was no problem with ruling party members being on the board.

“We deliver as a ruling party that’s why labour is supporting this bill,” he said.

DA MP Marian Shinn responded by saying the ANC members on the committee “betrayed South Africans”.

“The ANC would not compromise ... it refused to consider any name submitted by opposition parties. It does not represent the best choice of appropriate skills available,” she said.

The fact that the committee did not choose board members from a broad cross-section of South African society was also a concern.

“We are about to hand over control of the SABC to the ANC,” said Shinn.

Cope MP Juli Killian said the ANC again resorted to “cadre deployment”.

“They refused point blank to accept even one name supported by the opposition,” Killian said.

IFP MP Liezel van der Merwe was equally dissatisfied with the ANC’s choices for the board, going as far as to say its composition was open to legal scrutiny.

“It’s now uncertain whether the SABC sinking ship can be rescued,” she said.

The list of nominated board members will be sent to President Jacob Zuma, who makes the appointments.

The list includes the current interim chairperson of the board, Ellen Tshabalala, her deputy, Noluthando Gosa, and a past member of the broadcaster’s board, Vusumuzi Mavuso.

The others are Ronnie Lubisi, Thembinkosi Bonakele, Rachel Kalidass, Nomvuyo Mhlakaza, Bongani Khumalo, Mbulaheni Obert Maguvhe, Krish Naidoo, Aaron Tshidzumba and Hope Zinde.

Parliament dissolved the SABC board earlier this year after infighting caused mass resignations.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.