Almost the same Dolphins squad

2013-05-14 00:00

THE Dolphins announced their contracted players for the 2013/14 season yesterday and it’s a case of as you were with a more than familiar look to the squad.

The only addition is Morné Van Wyk, who joins the franchise from the Knights.

Said coach Lance Klusener: “I am looking forward to working with the team. It’s a young and talented squad, which can get cricket in the province back to the top of the domestic ladder.”

CEO of KZN Cricket, Jesse Chelin, said the vast majority of players from last season had been retained, the only losses being Ahmed Amla and Dane Paterson.

While the past season was another without a trophy for the Dolphins, Chelin said the squad were maturing and there had been some promising signs and personal triumphs during the season.

These included Kyle Abbott being the leading wicket taker in the four-day series with 49, an achievement that saw him make his Test debut against Pakistan at Centurion; David Miller getting the nod for the Protea team to play in next month’s Champions Trophy in England; Cameron Delport coming of age with an unbeaten century against the Knights in a domestic T20 match; Cody Chetty’s maiden franchise century and having an average of 40 in the four-day format; Keshav Maharaj’s career best of 5/11 against the Titans; Vaughn van Jaarsveld’s career best 160 against the Titans in a four-day game, adding another when the sides met at Centurion, and skipper Daryn Smit’s consistent form in the four-day games plus his strike rate of 162 in the T20 competition.

Said Chelin: “Morné van Wyk adds leadership experience, which is vital to a squad with an average age of 24. We believe we are on the brink of great things this season.”

The union said they will look at the possibility of recruiting overseas players to add experience.

The contracted players are: Kyle Abbott, Craig Alexander, Cody Chetty, Cameron Delport, Robbie Frylinck, Imraan Khan, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Calvin Savage, Mthokozisi Shezi, Daryn Smit, Prenelan Subrayen, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Divan van Wyk, Morné van Wyk, Jonathan Vandiar and Khaya Zondo.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.