Athletics: Third time lucky for 100 Miler

2009-09-08 00:00

IT was third time lucky for Craig Norris with a new course record for the Midlands 100 mile (161 kilo-metres) on Saturday morning.

The Hilton Harrier runner dipped under the previous record of 15 minutes, 28 minutes, 16 seconds by just fewer than seven minutes to take the tape in 15:21,30.

“It was great. The weather was brilliant and quite warm overnight, which helped. I’m really pleased. My third Midland and a record,” said Norris after regaining his legs at the finish.

“It’s a tough course, but through beautiful areas. I’m very happy.”

After a break, Norris who is well known as a trail runner, will look to doing the Sani Stagger marathon in November.

The weather may have helped overnight but as the day progressed the heat and a south-easterly wind made the going tough for Nedbank’s Mandlakhe Hlongwa, a distant second in 17:11,04, with Bongani Ndlovu third over an hour-and-a-half later.

Tammy Dennill from Westville athletics won the women’s race in 20:06,59, almost two hours outside the women’s record.

Mr Price’s Dombumusa Mthembu won the Duke of York trophy on the downhill course from Bolder Hill Road in Thornville to the Collegians clubhouse in Boschoff Street in 50,29 seconds, taking over 200 metres out of Boxer’s Tsheso Slhembe (51,12). Although third, Sandile Makhaye had the consolation of winning the 35 to 39 age.

Collegians Harriers women, led by Kerry Koen, kept the host club in the limelight. Koen was the clear victor in the women’s race 1:03,25.

It took almost seven minutes and two kilometres before Nonsekeleco Mbambo arrived onto the field for second. Estcourt’s Judith Geldenhuys (1:11,13) as usual outran many youngsters to take third spot, and first in the 50 to 59.

The host club also provided the oldest and youngest category winners. Nosipho Khuzwayo took the junior award in 1:21,20, while Daphne Edwards won the 60-plus category in 1:45,26.

Mr Price’s Albert Phungula was the unchallenged leader of the tough but scenic Dolphin Coast 50 km in 3:04,28. This relatively fast time, given the long climbs on the first half and rugged road on the return, was two kilometres ahead of Nedbank’s Figcobile Feni and an additional 12 minutes ahead of club mate Melisizwe Nondela in 3:24,01.

Nedbank’s Fikile Mbuthuma was over an hour-and-a-half clear of any competition in the women’s race (4:06,09). Pinetown’s Sindy Kreutzner managed second spot ahead of Pam Travis.

The Boxer club provided a new name to top the half-marathon podium.

Garikai Mdaya was first over the line in 1:13,34, almost 500 m clear of Foresthill’s Sicelo Mbuyisa.

Jeanette Davidson recorded her first title in road racing with victory in the women’s half marathon ahead of the experienced Maria Mthembu from Boxer. • In the first week of Comrades entries 2 274 of the 15 000 entries for previous runners have already been snatched up, with 88 of those from international runners. This compares with the normal early flurry of around 700 entries. Clearly the message is — get your entry in early if you want to be among the 20 000 setting the Guinness World record on May 30, 2010.

Comrades has launched a special SMS competition for novices. Ten novices will get free entry, but still have to meet the qualification criteria, if they SMS “2010” to 38725 to enter.

The prize guarantees the entry in the 85th Comrades Marathon and no entry fee will be payable. Each SMS is charged at R10. Entrants must be over 20 years old.

Midlands 100 Miles

Men: 1 Craig Norris HH 15:21,30 (course record), 2 Mandlakhe Hlongwa Ned 17:11,04, 3 Bongani Ndlovu Umhlathuze 18:42,23, 4 Lucas vd Merwe Standerton 19:34,07, 5 Sanath Bandara Sri Lankan Navy 20:46,37.

Women: 1 Tammy Dennill West 20:06,59, 2 Hazel Moller Bedford 22:06,35, 3 Estelle Earle Ndaba 22:29,49.

16 km Duke of York

Men: 1 Dombumusa Mthembu Mr P 50:29, 2 Tsheso Slhembe Boxer 51:12, 3 Sandile Makhaye Mr P 51:28

Women: 1 Kerry Koen CH 63:25, 2 Nonsekeleco Mbambo RWFL 70:10, 3 Judith Geldenhuys Estcourt 71:13.

Dolphin Coast festival of running and walking

10 km

Men: 1 Simon Tsonya Ned 33:06, 2 Bernard Phatsane Ned 33:47, 3 Innocent Nyawase QBH 34:57.

Women: 1 Yoih Madida Ind 45:55, 2 Cathline Fennemore UCT 46:39, 3 Hleziphi Ncayiyani Ned 46:44.


Men: 1 Garikai Mdaya Boxer 73:34, 2 Sicelo Mbuyisa Forest Hills 75:07, 3 Matt Coningham DCS 75:09

Women: 1 Jeanette Davidson DHSOB 95:50, 2 Maria Mthembu Boxer 96:34, 3 Julie Shadwell HV 96:49


Men: 1 Albert Phungula MrP 3:04,28, 2 Figcobile Feni Ned 3:12,09, 3 Melisizwe Nondela Ned 3:24,01.

Women: 1 Fikile Mbuthuma Ned 4:06:09, 2 Sindy Kreutzner PDAC 5:44,04, 3 Pam Travis IND 5:47,06.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.