Birkett and Patrick win first Umkomaas race of the season

2009-12-01 00:00

THE focus for KZN paddlers moved briefly away from the Dusi course on Sunday for the first Umkomaas race of the season. This was Kingfisher’s Bridgestone No. 8 to Josephine’s race, by far the easiest of the Umko events and an excellent introduction to this wonderful canoeing river.

Michael Patrick and Chris Birkett proved that their startling performance in the Ozzie Gladwin a few weeks ago was no flash in the pan, winning on Sunday by almost two minutes from Craig Turton and Miles Rasmussen. The Carter-Brown brothers, Greg and Craig, took third spot in their favourite river.

Blaine Berresford and Brett Willson of Maritzburg College won the boys’ race in fourth place overall, but less than two minutes ahead of U16s Donovan Wewege and Andrew Adie of Maritzburg and Kearsney Colleges respectively. The third junior boat home was Epworth’s Brittany Petersen. Fresh from her win in the Ithala last week, she again topped both the girls’ and overall women’s standings. Kate March, also in a K1, took second place with Diana Rietz and Patricia Stannard the first K2 home in third place overall.

Two husband-and-wife combinations battled it out in the mixed doubles, with James and Jean Hackland winning from Gavin and Gillian Tarr. It was encouraging to see 18 mixed doubles and 10 women’s boats among the 125 finishing boats, indicating the increasing popularity of the Umkomaas among KZN’s female paddlers.

Results overall: 1.Michael Patrick and Chris Birkett(U21) RHO-UKN 0:42:21, 2. Craig Turton and Miles Rasmussen CAN-KIN 0:44:10, 3. Greg and Craig Carter-Brown CAN 0:44:18, 4. Blaine Berresford and Brett Willson MAR/NAT – MAR/FEZ 0:45:38, 5. Matt Gilson and Darren Berriman(U21) UKN 0:45:58.

Boys: 1.Blaine Berresford and Brett Willson MAR/NAT – MAR/FEZ 0:45:38, 2. Donovan Wewege and Andrew Adie(U16) MAR-KEA 0:47:11, 3. Codey McKitterick and Calvin Griffiths GLE/KIN- CLI/KIN 0:55:38

Women: 1.Brittany Petersen(U16) EPW 0:54:51, 2. Kate March NAT 0:55:00, 3. Diana Rietz and Patricia Stannard UKN-FEZ 0:55:50.

Girls 1.Brittany Petersen(U16) EPW 0:54:51, 2. Hazel Little and Caitlin Millar EPW 0:56:44.

1st K1 Andrew Birkett UCT 0:46:05

1st SV Brett Frost and Guy Collyer NAT 0:46:38 – Lana Allen UMZ 1:14:05

1st V Gavin and Gillian Tarr CAN 0:51:37 – Sue Annandale and Fiona MacCrimmon NAT 1:00:55

1st SM Anthony Compton and Tim Platt ALE-FEZ 0:51:53

1st M Peter Morphew and Nibs Taylor NAT-EST 0:56:34 – Lorna Holmes and Kim Wessels UMZ 0:56:40

1st SGM Tim Biggs NAT 0:54:22

1st GM Hugh Raw and Ken Harley NAT 1:00:10

1st Mixed Jean and James Hackland NAT 0:50:38.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.