Bok players compete for 2013 title

2013-12-13 00:00

CAPE TOWN — Five key members of the Springbok squad in 2013 will go head-to-head for the annual SA Rugby Player of the Year Award.

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers, the winner in 2008 who led South Africa to 10 victories in 12 Tests in 2013, will go up against Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux and Duane Vermeulen for the most prestigious individual award in South African rugby.

Etzebeth is also nominated in the category of Young Player of the Year, where he will face stiff competition from fellow Springboks Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi and Jan Serfontein, as well as the fleet-footed Springbok Sevens star Cheslin Kolbe.

The award for Coach of the Year is a straight three-sided shoot-out between Heyneke Meyer, Jimmy Stonehouse and Brendan Venter while the teams they respectively coached in 2013 — the Springboks, the Pumas (Stonehouse also coached the SA President’s XV to victory in the IRB Tbilisi Cup) and the Sharks’ Currie Cup side — are the three nominations for Team of the Year.


Saru Rugby Player of the Year: 1. Jean de Villiers, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Eben Etzebeth, 4. Willie le Roux, 5. Duane Vermeulen

Young Player of the Year: 1. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 2. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Cheslin Kolbe, 4. Siya Kolisi, 5. Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: 1. Pumas (Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup First Division), 2. The Sharks (Currie Cup), 3. Springboks

Coach of the Year: 1. Heyneke Meyer (Springboks), 2. Jimmy Stonehouse (Steval Pumas), 3. Brendan Venter (The Sharks Absa Currie Cup)

SA U20 Player of the Year: 1. Jacques du Plessis, 2. Cheslin Kolbe, 3. Seabelo Senatla

SA Sevens Player of the Year: 1. Cornal Hendricks, 2. Frankie Horne, 3. Seabelo Senatla

Super Rugby Player of Year: 1. Willie le Roux (Cheetahs), 2. Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), 3. Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: 1. Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions), 2. Rosco Speckman (Pumas), 3. Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: 1. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), 2. Scarra Ntubeni (Western Province), 3. Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: 1. Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles), 2. Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings), 3. Rosco Speckman (Pumas).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24


5 top leg exercises for men

Here’s our selection of the five best leg exercises that you can do in the comfort of your own home.


You won't want to miss...

WATCH: Pornhub is giving users free access to premium content this holidays
5 top leg exercises for men
10 best dressed men of 2017
How to open a beer bottle without an opener
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.