Bok young guns tipped for Player of Year award

2014-12-11 00:00

TWO young Springboks top the list of nominees for Saru’s annual Player of the Year awards with just a day left for the public to vote for their favourite players.

As it stands, Handré Pollard and Nizaam Carr lead the list in terms of votes having only made their Bok debuts this year. Both players were nominated in three different categories.

Carr is up for Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, and Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year, while Pollard is also up for the first two as well as SA U20 Player of the Year.

Trailing in votes for player of the year are Bok eighthman Duane Vermeulen, Sharks and Bok flank Marcell Coetzee and Western Province and Blitsbokke star Seabelo Senatla.

Blitsbokke coach Neil Powell, Province coach Allister Coetzee and Lions coach Johann Ackermann are up for Coach of the Year while their respective teams are up against the Springboks and Junior Boks for Team of the Year.

Fans can still vote for the Player, Young Player, and Team of the Year categories online until 2 pm tomorrow. Vote at or through the online Springbok magazine at

The awards will be presented at a gala evening on February 8 next year.

Award categories and nominees

Saru Rugby Player of the Year

1. Nizaam Carr, 2. Marcell Coetzee, 3. Willie le Roux, 4. Handré Pollard, 5. Duane Vermeulen

Absa Young Player of the Year

1. Nizaam Carr, 2. Cheslin Kolbe, 3. Handré Pollard, 4. Seabelo Senatla,

5. Jan Serfontein

Absa Team of the Year

1. Springboks, 2. Junior Springboks, 3. Springbok Sevens, 4. Xerox Golden Lions (Absa Currie Cup), 5. DHL Western Province (Absa Currie Cup)

Absa Coach of the Year

1. Johann Ackermann (Xerox Golden Lions), 2. Allister Coetzee (DHL Western Province), 3. Neil Powell (Springbok Sevens)

SA Under-20 Player of the Year

1. Thomas du Toit, 2. Jesse Kriel, 3. Handré Pollard

SA Sevens Player of the Year

1. Branco du Preez, 2. Frankie Horne, 3. Seabelo Senatla

Vodacom Super Rugby Player of Year

1. Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks)

2. Duane Vermeulen (DHL Stormers)

3. Warren Whiteley (Xerox Golden Lions)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year

1. Renaldo Bothma (Steval Pumas)

2. Jonathan Francke (GWK Griquas)

3. Lizo Gqoboka (EP Kings)

Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year

1. Nizaam Carr (DHL Western Province)

2. Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province)

3. Jaco Kriel (Xerox Golden Lions)

Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year

1. Boela Abrahams (Down Touch Griffons)

2. Sylvian Mahuza (Leopards)

3. Dillon Smit (Leopards).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.