Canoeing: three World Marathon podium finishers in seed race

2010-11-02 00:00

BRANDON van der Walt took the honours in an excellent fifth place overall to win the boys’ race of the 30km Unlimited Ozzie Gladwin on Sunday.

Van Der Walt’s victory coincidentally gave the race three World Marathon podium finishers in the first five — race winner Len Jenkins, bronze in 2010; Van der Walt, junior gold in 2009; and second-placed Ant Stott, gold K2 and bronze K1 in 2008.

U16 Brittany Petersen showed some of the form that earned her a place at the recent Olympic Hopes Regatta in Europe when she outsprinted the rest of the special women’s batch to claim the Hot Spot at the crest of the dam wall portage.

Natal Canoe Club and new race and Dusi sponsors, The Unlimited, put together a very classy event much enjoyed by the final entry of over 620 paddlers which made the “Ozzie” the biggest one day race of the year and set a very high standard for all future one day races in KZN.

The race was also the first of a number of seeding races for the Unlimited Dusi 2011, setting the first two rows of A Batch on Day 1.


K1 overall: 1. Len Jenkins NAT 1:54:49, 2. Ant Stott NAT 2:00:30, 3. Michael Mbanjwa SOW 2:02:26, 3. Mark Mulder KIN 2:02:46, 5. Brandon van der Walt UKN 2:05:19.

Boys: 1.Brandon van der Walt UKN 2:05:19, 2. Mmeli Cele LEM 2:08:09, 3. Donovan Wewege(U16) MAR 2:08:56, 4. Blaine Beresford MAR 2:09:26, 5. Murray Haw(U16) MAR 2:11:29.

Women: 1. Abby Adie(U21) NAT 2:17:20, 2. Hillary Pitchford NAT 2:21:58, 3. Donna Winter KIN 2:22:27, 4. Brittany Petersen(U16) EPW 2:30:29, 5. Kerry Segal(U16) AMA 2:30:44

Girls: 1. Brittany Petersen(U16) EPW 2:30:29, 2. Kerry Segal(U16) AMA 2:30:44, 3. Jenna Ward AMA 2:33:44, 4. Jenna Starr EPW 2:40:31, 5. Bianca Haw(U14) EPW 2:41:54.

1st U14 boy: Damon Stamp MAR 2:27:59

1st U21 man: Zonele Nzuza LEM 2:10:17

1st SV: Shane Millward NAT 2:11:07, woman — Debbie Germiquet UMZ 2:34:07

1st V: Steve Cohen KIN 2:08:42, woman — Mandy Rawlins NAT 2:33:01

1st SM: Eric Hildebrandt KIN 2:13:04, women — Merrill King MID 2:50:53

1st M: Ric Whitton UMZ 2:17:22, women — Solly Peckett EPW 2:58:23

1st SGM: Tim Cornish NAT 2:24:39, woman – Linda Lodge STE 2:49:46.

1st GM: Reg Stuart STE 2:41:47.

1st Double: Rob Ostler and Cliff Wills(M) UMZ-KIN 2:17:17, women — Deborah Dick and Caroline Minnaar(SV) NAT-NGW 2:37:36.

1st Mixed Double: James Tutton and Kim Jackson(SM) KIN 2:22:47.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.