Champ Ashleigh Moolman Pasio does the double

2015-02-09 00:00

MBOMBELA — Following her dominant display in the time trial earlier in the week, SA’s Ashleigh Moolman Pasio pulled away from the rest of the field in the last five kilometres to claim the national road race title at the 2015 South African Road, Time Trial and Para-cycling Championships on Saturday.

The Bigla Pro Cycling Team star looked comfortable throughout the race as she commanded the lead group but acknowledged that she was a little worried towards the end that she might not have enough energy in her legs to get herself across the line.

“For a moment towards the end there I thought that we were going to go down to a sprint finish and I was worried about the intensity in my legs,” the champion said.

“I didn’t think that I was going to drop them and it was only on this last little climb that I really put my head down and just kept going and to come across the line alone was great,” she added.

It was a group of eight riders that got away and kept ahead of the rest of the field and the group managed to hold Moolman Pasio up until she put in two surges that broke the back of the field and gave her that breathing space that she needed.

Second place went to 27-year-old An-Li ­Kachelhoffer of the Activate Drinks Team.

The afternoon session on Saturday also consisted of two veterans’ races with the Veteran Men’s 60-64 age category road race seeing Paul Furbank do the double as he won an end sprint to add the road race title to his time trial title he won a few days earlier.

The Veteran Women 40-44 was also hotly contested with Adele Janse van Vuuren sneaking a victory in their road race ahead of Elise ­Gianchino and Monica Glover in third.

— Gameplan Media.


Rod Race

Elite Women

1. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio 03:18.46

2. An-Li Kachelhoffer .3:19.14

3. Lynette Burger 03:19.15

4. Cherise Stander 03:19.15

5. Lisa Olivier 03:19.16

6. Carla Oberholzer 03:19.17

7. Heidi Dalton 03:19.20

8. Yolandi du Toit 03:19.33

9. Catherine Colyn 03:19.59

10. Juanita Venter 03:20.19

Veteran Women 40-44

1. Adele Janse van Vuuren 02:41.06

2. Elisa Gianchino 02:41.09

3. Monica Glover 02:41.10

4. Altha Viljoen 02:41.11

5. Nadia Visser 02:41.12

Veteran Men 60-64

1. Paul Furbank 02:40.45

2. Richard Travis 02:40.46

3. Johan Spies 02:40.47

4. Sieg Hamman 02:40.48

5. Noel Ziady 02:40.49

U16 Boys

1. Devin Shortt 02:26.10

2. Ricardo Broxham 02:27.00

3. Demarco Pillay 02:27.12

4. Ben Britz 02:27.44

5. Brendan Phillips 02:28.00

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.