Close finish in Wagendrift Dam marathon

2013-05-01 00:00

PHUMA athlete Bongani Msimango edged out Thulani Duma in the annual Eskort Cavanagh Marathon, which was held around Wagendrift Dam on Sunday. The duo was separated by less than 40 metres at the finish, where Msimango recorded three hours 19 minutes 31 seconds for the 52-kilometre distance. Duma had the consolation of leading Nedbank to team victory. Third place went to Bongani Ngobese of the local Oziweni club in 3:24,14.

Fikile Mbuthuma was a clear winner in the women’s race in 4:12,17 with Nonsekelelo Mbambo second overall and the first of the Carbineers quartet that earned the team prize. Nicola McMurry continued her now regular appearance on the podium, securing third in 4:33,37.

While Eloi De Oliveira continued his build-up to the Comrades with a win in the 50-59 age group, his wife Grace dominated the women’s race over the half-marathon distance, taking hers in 1:46,47. Jen Fellowes was over four minutes adrift, while Nontobeko Mlambo made the long journey from Loskop to fill the final podium position in 1:52,26.

Mlambo’s club colleagues Bafana Miya and Lindilani Nxumalo sandwiched Paulos Phungule of Nedbank in the men’s half-marathon, with Miya securing victory in 1:21,10.

Up the north coast, it was Sphamandla Nyemba who conquered the scenic two-lap course around St Lucia bay in 1:10,34, almost a full kilometre ahead of Malvern Paradza. Thelumusa Sibiya completed the awards with his 1:14,36, while Richards Bay’s Melanie van Rooyen put five minutes between her and Janene Carey in the women’s race, taking line honours in 1:22,39. Van Rooyen was 10th overall and looks to be on form for another crack at Comrades gold.

This morning, runners can compete in the Church-to-Church Road race from St Mary Magdalene Church in Byrne to St Mary’s in Richmond, which celebrates its 160th year. The race, which covers an undulating 15,2 kms, starts from Byrne at 7.30 am and is open to walkers and runners.

There are a number of club runs planned for the Comrades route today and this coming weekend. Runners and drivers are requested to take special care during these times, particularly when stopping along the route for refreshments and at water points.

With a number of clubs withdrawing from the organisation of the Indian Ocean Marathon, the Checkout Verulam Challenge is the final local opportunity for runners to get under the required Comrades qualification of a five-hour marathon prior to the closing date of May 6.

The event offers 10 km, 21 km and the full marathon distances, and starts from Verulam recreational grounds at 5.30 am. The half marathon and 10 km are open to runners and walkers, and Sham has more information at 083 271 8963.

The Durban street mile scheduled for May 3 has been cancelled. This was to be the first in a series and it is hoped that sponsorship can be found for the others listed for later in the year.

ASA have also postponed the Open Championships until later in May. The event, which is to be a major opportunity for athletes to attempt to qualify for the World Championships is expected to be held in conjunction with a regional championship event, but the date has not yet been finalised.


Eskort Cavanagh ultra-marathon 52 km, Men

1. Bongani Msimango, Phuma KZN 3:19:31; 2. Thulani Duma, Nedbank AC 3:19:35; 3. Bongani Ngobese, Oziweni AC 3:24:14

40 to 49: Elbard Mbatha, LAC 4:05:01

50 to 59: Eloi De Oliveira, Boxer AC 3:46:01

60+: Mike Cowling, Saints AC 4:56:24

Team: Nedbank AC

Eskort Cavanagh ultra-marathon 52 km, women

1. Fikile Mbuthuma, Nedbank AC 4:12:17; 2. Nonsekelelo Mbambo, Natal Carb 4:21:54; 3. Nicola McMurry, Mntunzini AC 4:33:37

40 to 49: Hleziphi Ncayiyana, Nedbank AC 4:48:42

50 to 59: Elize Fick, LAC 6:00:06

Team: Natal Carbineers

21,1 km run , men

1. Bafana Miya, Loskop AC 1:21:10; 2. Paulos Phungule, Nedbank AC 1:21:44; 3. Lindilani Nxumalo, Loskop AC 1:24:20

21,1 km run, women

1. Grace De Oliveira, Boxer AC 1:46:47; 2. Jen Fellowes, Ind 1:50:59; 3. Nontobeko Mlambo, Loskop AC 1:52:26

St Lucia Half Marathon

21 km, men

1. Sphamandla Nyemba 1:10:34; 2. Malvern Paradza 1:13:49; 3. Thelumusa sibiya 1:14:36

21 km, women

1. Melanie van Rooyen 1:22:39; 2. Janene Carey 1:27:14; 3. Winile Mnisi 1:30:37

10 km

Men: Patrick Nkosi (junior) 32:35

Women: Nondumiso Sithole 44:32

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.