College U16 clean up

2009-11-03 00:00

THE Capitol Caterers-Popes Canoe Centre Interschool Challenge 2009 came to a close on Saturday with the 10-lap Enduro at Blue Lagoon in Durban.

Maritzburg College’s U16 team of Donovan­ Wewege, Blaine Berresford, Dewalt Hattingh and Murray Haw showed a clean rudder blade to the rest of the field. They broke clear of Michaelhouse U18A — Stuart MacLaren, Julian Atkinson, Matthew Dean and Ben Bradford — the only team to offer a challenge, after the fifth lap and pulled away steadily to win by one minute and 20 seconds. The Maritzburg College U18A team — Matt Shaw, Troy Harworth, Brett Wilson and Richard Kaufman — took the third spot 9,37 seconds off the leaders.

The Epworth U18A team of just three paddlers — Brittany Petersen, Tamika Haw and Hazel Little — dominated the girls’ race finishing in fifth place overall in the Enduro and two laps and 33 seconds ahead of the second-placed combined team from Danville Girls High and St Barnabas — Caitlin Lottering, Cindy Stephens, Cassidy Shaw and Courtney Smith. The Epworth U16B team were third just under a minute later.

Thirty-three teams from 14 different schools took part in the Enduro in sunny weather with a brisk north-easter making lots of hard work on the downstream leg of each lap.

The eight-event challenge has the two-fold purpose of introducing new junior paddlers to several of the disciplines of canoeing as well as providing a schools-based league competition. Flatwater marathon, river marathon, sprinting, slalom and canoe polo events are held, mainly in the first and fourth terms, culminating in the Enduro which is followed by the final prize giving.

The top honours in the individual competition went to Michaelhouse’s Stuart MacLaren and Epworth’s Jenna Starr. Starr was not present at the Enduro, as she and Jenna Ward from Kingsway High in Amanzimtoti were away in Gauteng winning the girls’ gold medal at the SA K2 River championships at the Vaal Marathon. In the U16s Berresford topped the ladder by a single point from Donovan Wewege, both from Maritzburg College. Epworth’s Petersen was a comfortable winner in the girls’ U16 class. James Wewege from Maritzburg College and Bianca Haw from Epworth were the U14 winners.

In the boys’ schools’ competition where schools earn points across all age groups, Maritzburg College emerged the winner for 2009, mainly due to the efforts of their strong U16 and U14 paddlers. Michaelhouse were second after dominating the U18 category for most of the year. Before the Enduro, Kearsney had a slight lead over Hilton, but a strong showing on Saturday by five teams turned the tables placing Hilton third overall for the year.

Epworth have dominated girls’ canoeing in KwaZulu-Natal for the past two years and their win this year with 525 points to Wykeham Collegiate’s 140 in second place gives a clear picture of just how strong they are. St Anne’s and St Johns DSG tied for third place.


Enduro results

Boys’ U18: 1. Michaelhouse A nine laps +1:20.76, 2. Maritzburg College A nine laps +9:37.29, 3. Glenwood/DHS eight laps +1:54.82.

Girls’ U18: 1. Epworth A eight laps +1:35.26, 2. Danville/St Barnabas A six laps +2:08.16, 3. The Wykeham Collegiate A five laps.

Boys’ U16: 1. Maritzburg College A 10 laps, 2. Maritzburg College B eight laps +0:35.86, 3. Michaelhouse A seven laps +4:36.26.

Girls’ U16: 1. Epworth A six laps +3:05.45, 2. Epworth B six laps +9:48.36, 3. Epworth C six laps +14:30.18

Boys’ U14: 1. Maritzburg College/Merchiston seven laps +3:41.08, 2. Michaelhouse A six laps, 3. Hilton A six laps +6:45.98

Girls’ U14: 1. Epworth A five laps +11:37.01, 2. The Wykeham Collegiate A four laps +11:59.89.


Victor and Victrix Ludorum

Boys’ U18: 1. Staurt MacLaren MIC 67 points, 2. Lance Kime STC 46 points, 3. Matthew Dean MIC 36 points.

Girls’ U18: 1. Jenna Starr EPW 55 points, 2. Tamika Haw EPW 53 points, 3. Kate Johnson EPW 38 points.

Boys’ 16: Blaine Berresford MAR 60 points, 2. Donovan Wewege MAR 59 points, 3. Andrew Houston MIC 39 points

Girls’ U16: Brittany Petersen EPW 66 points, 2. Caitlin Millar EPW 43 points, Teagan Hendrie EPW 41 points.

Boys’ U14: James Wewege MAR 56 points, 2. Bruce Arnott MIC 39 points, 3. Patrick Dillon CLI (Nottingham Road) 31 points.

Girls’ U14: Bianca Haw EPW 46 points, 2. Camilla Pennefather EPW 36 points, 3. Courtney MacKenzie TWC 31 points,


Boys’ schools

1. Maritzburg College 371 points, 2. Michaelhouse 293 points, 3. Hilton College 95 points.

Girls’ schools

1. Epworth 525 points, 2. The Wykeham Collegiate 140 points, 3. St Annes and St Johns DSG both on 64 points.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.