College’s Wewege triumphs in inter-schools sprint

2012-02-14 00:00

THE 2012 edition of the Inter-schools Canoeing Challenge got under way on Saturday with the 500 m Sprint Day hosted by Michaelhouse at Camps Drift in Pietermaritzburg.

Donovan Wewege of Maritzburg College proved his canoeing versatility by winning the open boys’ category by 0,38 seconds from school-mate James Speed. Third place was taken by Warren le Roux from MCS.

Wewege took fourth place overall in last week’s All African Canoe Slalom Championships in Bethlehem.

Maritzburg College’s Louis Hattingh took the U16 title with the best time overall for the whole regatta.

James Horner of Epworth won the U14 category.

In the girls open category, old rivals and recent K2 partners Brittany Petersen of Epworth and Emma Horner of St John’s DSG fought it out for the top spot. Petersen won the heats, but Horner hit back to take the final by a comfortable four seconds. Kate Arnott of St Anne’s took third place.

Francis Berresford took the U16 girls’ title from Epworth school-mate Camilla Pennefather, with another Epworth paddler, Cana Peek, on top in the U14 category.

Times were not good given that the racing was upstream on a temporary course at Camps Drift, but there was plenty of competition from the 200 school paddlers taking part, with seven heats necessary in both U16 and open boys’ categories.

The next event in the Challenge is the Mooi River race hosted by Weston Agricultural College on Saturday, February 25. The challenge consists of events in sprint, slalom, canoe polo, flat-water marathon and river marathon, and is designed to introduce all disciplines of the sport as well as a competitive challenge to all the schools involved.

For the past 20 years it has provided the most important feeder for junior canoeists into the mainstream of canoeing in KZN.

Results 500 m K1


Open 1. Donovan Wewege MAR 2:01.07, 2. James Speed MAR 2:01.45, 3. Warren le Roux MCS 2:02.86

U16 1. Louis Hattingh MAR 1:58.71, 2. Bryan le Roux MCS 2:03.87, 3. Keagan Kok WST 2:10.77

U14 1. James Horner EPW 2:26.77, 2. Jason Boulle MIC 2:35.39, 3. Graham Davies MIC 2:42.15

U12 Guppy 200m 1. Clancy EPW 1:01.8, 2. Kade White EPW 1:11.14


Open 1. Emma Horner STJ 2:12.05, 2. Brittany Petersen EPW 2:16.7, 3. Kate Arnott STA 2:32.64.

U16 1. Francis Berresford EPW 2:19.84, 2. Camilla Pennefather EPW 2:24.52, 3. Sarah Harries TWC 2:38.43

U14 1. Cana Peek EPW 2:39.48, 2. Donna Hutton EPW 2:40.85, 3. Jamie Robertson EPW 2:41.32

U12 Guppy 200m 1. Riley van Rooyen EPW 1:00.77, 2. Amy Peckett EPW 1:08.2, 3. Casey Robertson EPW 1:13.58.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.