Collegians XV players dominate Wildebeest team selection

2011-08-04 00:00

THE Maritzburg Collegians first XV fought back from a 19-0 deficit after 15 minutes to win the KZN First Division final 32-27 against perennial title holders Vryheid at Mick Kelly Park in Empangeni over the weekend.

Collegians will challenge KZN Premier Division bottom club Jaguars in a promotion/relegation match later this season.

“The guys showed immense character,” said Collegians chairman Tony Day. With Collegians’ sponsors Ricoh providing a supporters’ bus, the boys in red, black and white were spurred on by their vociferous fans.

There was no looking back and loose head prop and captain Blake Kyd led from the front with a forward-of-the-match performance. Umfundu Magubane, with some bone-crunching hits in the midfield, was the backline man-of-the-match.

No less than 10 Collegians players, plus coach Rinier Bosman, have been selected for the Sharks Wildebeest team to play in the SA Junior Clubs interprovincial competition in Saldana Bay next month.

With Kyd as captain, the other Collegians players selected for the Wildebeest side are prop forward Sabelo Dlalisa, hooker Dylan Pieterse, locks Justin Wendover and Juan Vosloo, loose forwards Justin Smith, flyhalf Conal Levin and centre Rikus Janse van Rensberg.

Fifth-placed PMB Varsity went down 16-12 to Durban Collegians in a Premier Division match on Tuesday evening.

“The match started at a high tempo with both sides attacking at every opportunity, with sound defence the feature of the opening quarter,” said Varsity coach Beans Bateman. After trailing 7-0, Varsity led 12-7 at half-time with excellent tries from centre Kurt Mavrodaris and wing Louis Nondela. The second half produced excellent rugby from both sides and again the feature was solid defence.

“Durban Collegians ran out winners, but Varsity can be very proud of the way they played,” said Bateman.

In the Murray Cup first round at 3.30 pm this Saturday, PMB Collegians face Jaguars at Woodburn, while PMB Varsity are away to Hillcrest at 5 pm. Other Murray Cup first round matches at 3.30 pm on Saturday see champions College Rovers in Vryheid, Durban Collegians at Ladysmith, Crusaders in Richards Bay, Harlequins in Newcastle, Zululand Rhinos at Amanzimtoti and Old Boys at Ballito Dolphins.

Other Premier Division results: College Rovers 38 Jaguars 38, Old Boys 29 Zululand 6, Harlequins 29 Crusaders 17.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.