Collegians wins district pairs

2009-02-06 00:00

THE Natal Inland finals of the district pairs were completed at Maritzburg Bowling Club last Saturday afternoon.

The men’s winners were Sid Siebert and Terry Peate (Collegians), with Barry Earnshaw and Bob Squires (Wanderers) the runners-up. The women’s winners were Belinda and Debbie Nobin (Alex Park), with Marinda Opperman and Val Hillier (Maritzburg West) the runners-up.

Aggregate Cup Points

At the conclusion of the open pairs last Saturday, the points standings for the year so far were: Women: M. Opperman on 13 points; V. Hillier, B. James and C. Wright on eight points; C. McDuling, B. Nobin, D. Nobin, Z. Siebert and J. Squires on seven points; and a further three players on six points. Men: N. Schofield on 10 points, P. Scholtz on eight points; N. Crowe, N. Dodgson, B. Earnshaw, R. Keylock, T. Peate, S. Siebert and B. Squires on seven points; and a further five players on six points.

• The Niba coaches standing committee will be holding a club coaches level-one course from March 24 to March 27. Players wishing to take this course need to have a recommendation from their clubs, and it is requested that the clubs submit the names of interested players. For more information, phone Doug Robertson at 033 343 1187. The closing date for this course is February 20.

• The SpecSavers KwaZulu-Natal Women’s Bowling Tournament (pairs and fours) will take place in the Natal Inland district (Pietermaritzburg and surrounds) from May 16 to May 24.

SpecSavers remain the main sponsor but an additional sponsorship has been secured from Rob Roy Retirement Lifestyle Village.

• The Mini District Tournament will take place on February 7 and February 8 between the open, senior and B sides of the four Natal districts.

Both the men and women interdistricts will play against each other, and this will be hosted by the Village and Margate bowling clubs. Two rounds will be played on Saturday starting at 9.30 am and one round will be played on Sunday morning.

• The KBA men’s and women’s fours Kingfisher finals were played on Sunday at Uvongo Bowling Club. The men’s fours were contested between two teams from Margate Bowling Club, with Malcolm Baker, Mike Jeffrey, Wayne and Kurt Muller winning, and Brian Cole-Cook, Tom Cawker, Rob Cubbin and Ally Weir the runners-up.

The women’s fours were won by Felicity van Rensburg, Daphne Sapsford, Jackie Marais and Mada Lindeque from the Bell Bowling Club, with Esta Wenzel, Sally Stewart, Sandra Singleton and Les Diffenthal of Margate Country Club the runners-up.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.