Country Districts Quadrangular tournament this weekend

2015-02-19 00:00

AFTER the success of last year’s inaugural event, Midlands Country Districts Cricket ­Union host the second Country Districts Quadrangular tournament from Friday to ­Sunday this weekend (February 20 to 22).

Matches will be played at Eston and ­Richmond, with the Varsity Oval hosting the two T20 matches tomorrow, starting at 4 pm and 7 pm. Saturday and Sunday’s clashes are 45-over affairs.

Participating teams are East Griqualand (Harding, Kokstad, Swartberg, Matatiele), Southern Districts (Underberg, Ixopo, Creighton), Midlands North (Noodsberg, Mooi River) and Midlands South (Eston, ­Richmond).

KZN Inland have come on board, supplying balls, umpires and scorers, plus covering the costs of using the Varsity Oval for the T20 games.

Entry to the venues is free. Food and refreshments are on sale for Saturday and Sunday’s matches.

Fixtures - Friday, February 20

Midlands North v Midlands South, 4pm, Varsity Oval, T20

East Griqualand v Southern Districts, 7pm, Varsity Oval, T20

Saturday, February 21

Midlands South v East Griqualand, 9am, Eston, 45-overs

Midlands North v Southern Districts, 9am, Richmond, 45-overs

Sunday, February 22

Midlands South v Southern Districts, 9am, Eston, 45-overs

Midlands North v East Griqualand, 9am, Richmond, 45-overs

East Griqualand Squad: Orrin Shand (C), Warwick Miles, Brian Mannix, Victor Walker-Randall, Mike Osborn, Kyle Pride, Russ Dorning, Sven Rossler, Brian Rawlins, Justin Belbin, Scooter Johnson, Cliffy Gilson, Jim Payn (Manager)

Southern Districts Squad: Alex McArthur, Craig Lucy, Shaun Hiltenun, Dale Taylor, Larrence Cheeseman (C), Warren Humphries, Bruce Humphries, Patrick Hancock, Josh Foster, Graham Horne, Lance Walker, Kirsten Heslop, Andrew Foster (Manager)

Midlands North Squad: Garth Ratsey (C), Rory Ratsey, Travis Walker, Jason Pelser, Ross Haines, Paul Brande, Anton Burger, Magnus van Rooyen, Jason Vaughn-Davies (more names to be announced)

Midlands South Squad: Ryan Cook, Clint Lock, Stuart Woodroffe, Hendrik Marais, Ant Foster, Darren Love, Murray Hampson, Scott Hosking (C), Rob Hampson, George Bronkhorst, Clement Mvovo, Alan Briscoe, Rob Gait.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.