Cricket: Holidays herald the start of festivals

2010-09-21 00:00

THERE is plenty of cricket at the beginning of the schools’ Michaelmas break and although rain is desperately needed, all concerned will hope it stays away over the coming Heritage long weekend.

The 51st Michaelmas Week hosted by Maritzburg College starts on Friday. Four days of 50-over matches between the 18 participating schools is a highlight in the schools’ cricketing calendar.

Nine of the schools are from KZN, which includes hosts Maritzburg College, St Charles College, Hilton and Michaelhouse, Kearsney, Westville, Durban High, Glenwood and a KZN Invitation XI.

From further afield are Pretoria Boys’ High and Affies from Pretoria, St Davids, King Edwards, St John’s and St Stithians from Johannesburg, Hudson Park from East London, Grey College from Bloemfontein and a Griqua Development XI from Kimberley.

The Weston Cricket Week, in its 18th year, has changed the format so that all the matches played will be the 20-over format. They have invited schools to the week where they will each play games. Local schools joining Weston are Howick and Pionier, from further afield are Heronbridge and Northcliff from Gauteng, and Stellenberg and Bergvliet from the Western Cape. Cricket runs from Friday to Tuesday.

Hilton will be hosting their U14 Festival, which begins on Saturday and runs over four days with two declaration games, one 50-over game and two Twenty20 matches on Tuesday, the final day. Local schools invited by Hilton are Michaelhouse, Maritzburg College, St Charles College and Westville. They will be joined by Rondebosch and Wynberg from Cape Town, Grey College from Bloemfontein, St Albans from Pretoria and Johannesburg schools, St John’s, St Stithians and Parktown.

At Kearsney is the Jonssons U11 T20 Festival. It was the idea of two retired Kearsney teachers, Phil Ratcliffe and Mike Griffiths. They are involved in the organisation of the festival, which this year sees 13 sides from some of the top primary schools in the region and three development sides sponsored by the KZN Cricket Union. The 16 teams will play nine T20 games over the three days, from Friday to Sunday.

The teams involved are Chelsea Lions, DPHS Dragons, Glenwood Hoppers, HCA Pinch Hitters, Highbury Hurricanes, Hillcrest Hotshots, Kloof Cobras, Northlanders, Saints Strikers (SCC), Thomas Moore Titans, Umhlali Dolphins, Westville Warriors and Winston Park Pythons. The three development sides are Durban Central Tigers, Durban North Cubs and Umgeni Mambas.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.