Cricket: national selectors name squad of 28 for training camp

2011-08-24 00:00

CRICKET South Africa (CSA) yesterday named a squad of 28 players to attend a pre-season training camp at Arabella Golf Estate next week.

The camp will run from Monday to Friday and will cover all aspects of preparation, both on and off the field. The squad originally consisted of 31 players but three players – Wayne Parnell (Sussex), Imran Tahir (Hampshire) and Alviro Petersen (Glamorgan) – are not available because of county commitments.

Included are three players who have yet to be capped in the Proteas’ squads: Knights all-rounder Dean Elgar, Knights batsman Rilee Rossouw and Highveld Lions fast bowler Craig Alexander.

Said selection convener Andrew Hudson, “The squad consists of all the CSA contracted players plus another 11 who have either represented the Proteas before or who have done well enough at South Africa A level recently to merit consideration for promotion. I can’t stress enough how important the A side has become. This is our 2nd XI and is the only way for players to gain promotion to the Castle Lager Test and ODI squads.

“It is significant that Rilee Rossouw and Vaughn van Jaarsveld only got their latest chance to go on the South African A tour of Zimbabwe when other players dropped out for a variety of reasons. Both players grabbed the opportunity and their form has been acknowledged by the selectors,” Hudson added.

Said team manager Dr Mohammed Moosajee, “This is a very important camp as it is the only chance for Gary Kirsten and his new management team to work with the players before most of them go off to play in the Nokia Champions League in India.” Squad: Graeme Smith (Cape Cobras), Craig Alexander (Highveld Lions), Hashim Amla (Dolphins), Loots Bosman (Dolphins), Johan Botha (Warriors), Mark Boucher (Cape Cobras), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Dean Elgar (Knights), Paul Harris (Titans), Colin Ingram (Warriors), Jacques Kallis (Cape Cobras), Heino Kuhn (Titans), Ryan McLaren (Knights), David Miller (Dolphins), Albie Morkel (Titans), Morne Morkel (Titans), Robbie Peterson (Cape Cobras), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Ashwell Prince (Warriors), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Jacques Rudolph (Titans), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), Rusty Theron (Warriors), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Warriors), Roelof van der Merwe (NTitans), Vaughn van Jaarsveld (Dolphins).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.