Dainfern: Kearsney Pupil wins Golf Championship

2013-04-02 00:00

schools’ golf

AT the recent Dainfern College National Golf Championships in Johannesburg, Kearsney College’s Greg Royston continued his superb run of form, winning the individual competition on a score of two under par over three rounds. After starting the final round with a lead of four, Royston managed to hold on in a hard fought battle with Dylan Naidoo from Tuks Sports Academy. Royston achieved the best gross score of the tournament.

In the team format, Royston and Greg McKay came second trailing by one shot, losing to Tuks Sports B team with Tuks Sports A team coming in at third place in a field of 51 teams.

At the KwaZulu-Natal Inter-High Schools’ Golf Championship held at Victoria Country Club in early March, where teams of four competed over 18 holes of Strokeplay, it was Hilton that dominated.

This tournament is one of two played by all KZN golfing schools in the province and is used to determine the school from KZN that will attend the Retief Goosen National Schools Golf Challenge at Humewood GC, Port Elizabeth, in June, 2013.

The Hilton B team of Matt Lauryssen 78, Rourke Lauryssen 73, Tyron Searle 79 and Matt Drysdale 73 won the tournament by four shots over Westville Boys’ High, with Hilton A side in third place, followed by Kearsney, Clifton and Westville B.

Four Westville boys out of the squad of 16 gained selection in the KZN Southern Coastal golf team, with three each from Kearsney and DHS making up the bulk of the team. The Southern Coastal team will play against the Midlands/Inland side during the third term and from this KZN A and B teams will be chosen.

All three rounds played between the two sides will count as part of the selection process for KZN Schools to play the IPT in Durban during the October holidays.

KZN Coastal A: C Mansfield (Westville), G Royston (Kearsney), D Govender (DHS), J Broomhead (Wvl), G McKay (Ksn), R Towell (Glenwood), A Gounden (Phoenix), B Botha (Wvl)

Coastal B: R Coetzer (DHS), D Walker (Gwd), J Kennedy (Ksn), R KiliiaN (DHS), l Mayo (Umhhlanga), R Karstadt (Clifton), A Earle (Cft), M Harcus (Wvl)

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.