Danville Park girls win season opener

2013-02-05 00:00

THE annual Girls’ Inter High Schools Smythe Trophy at Kershaw Park was won by Durban’s Danville Park with St Anne’s second, St Mary’s (Kloof) third and The Wykeham Collegiate fourth.

No less than 11 schools entered the tournament and a host of doubles combinations battled it out on the tennis courts. Run on a round-robin basis, the teams initially played pool games, with the winners of each section placed into new groups — and likewise for all the other positions at the end of the pool matches.

The four schools that won their sections were Danville Park firsts (Jenna and Jodi Davidson); St Anne’s firsts (Christie Bradford and Tessa van der Merwe); St Mary’s Kloof firsts (Georgie Willows and Kirsty Higgs) and The Wykeham Collegiate firsts (Melissa Glutz and Nicola Deenik).

The Davidson twins from Danville Park are a formidable doubles combination and won the Smythe Trophy for the fourth year in a row.

“This is an exciting event with which to begin the school tennis year,” Binks Robertson, KZN Midlands Girls’ Schools’ secretary, told The Witness.

St Mary’s put up a superb fight against Danville Park, but narrowly lost 5-4 in the nine-game match. Having lost to the TWC couple earlier in the week in a league match, St Anne’s firsts were on top form to win 5-4 this time round. The St Anne’s couple, Bradford and Van der Merwe, also beat their St Mary’s opponents 5-4.


1. Danville Park 1 (Jodi Davidson, Jenna Davidson); 2. St Anne’s 1 (Christie Bradford, Tessa van der Merwe); 3. St Mary’s 1 (Georgie Willows, Kirsty Higgs); 4. The Wykeham Collegiate 1 (Melissa Glutz, Nicola Deenik); 5. The Wykeham Collegiate 2 (Jemma Veenstra, Sam Yeats); 6. Pietermaritzburg Girls’ High School (GHS) 1 (Ellen King, Leigh-Anne van den Berg); 7. St Anne’s 2 (Sophie McDonald, Megan McDonald); 8. Durban Girls’ College (Phillipa Liasides, Nicole Koenig); 9. Epworth 1 (Hannah Power, Sarah Mayne); 10. Epworth 2 (Melissa Ewels, Rachel Barnard); 11. Treverton 1 (Tess Miles, Anja Kanzler); 12. Danville Park 2 (Jaime Dodd, Nicole Scriba); 13. GHS 2 (Sarah Grenfell, Cailene Jamloodeen); 14. St Mary’s 2 (Jenna Robinson, Daniella Cairns); 15. St John’s 1 (Lauren Clarke, Samantha du Toit); 16. Hillcrest 1 (Kim Fenton, Kate Dinkleman); 17. Wembley 1 (Ceyanne Scott, Hermien Steyn).

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.