Delhi Daredevils dump KP after slump in fortunes

2014-12-18 00:00

CAPE TOWN — South African-born former England batsman Kevin Pietersen has been dropped by his IPL team, the Delhi Daredevils.

According to the NDTV Sports website, Pietersen (34), whose contract was worth around £800 000 (R14,6 million), is one of 14 players leaving the IPL franchise in a clear-out following their poor season last year.

Pietersen scored 294 runs in 11 matches at an average of 29,40 as the Daredevils finished last in the standings, winning only two of their 14 matches.

Pietersen, who captained Delhi last year, is able to enter the IPL auction early next year in a bid to find a new club but is unlikely to attract such a high deal.

Delhi have also released Yuvraj Singh, Ross Taylor, Dinesh Kartik and Murali Vijay, as well as South African duo Wayne Parnell and Imran Tahir.

Pietersen is currently in Australia playing for the Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash. His county future is uncertain, too, after his registration was cancelled by Surrey last year.

Released players by IPL team

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Amit Mishra, Aaron Finch, Darren Sammy, Irfan Pathan, Jason Holder, Y Venugopal Rao, Bernard Taylor, Prashant Parmeshwaran, Aniruddh Srikkanth, Manprit Juneja

Mumbai Indians

Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Jalaj Saxena, CM Gautham, Sushant Marathe, Apurv Wankhede, Krishmar Santokie, Ben Dunk

Chennai Super Kings

Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Vijay Shankar, David Hussey

Delhi Daredevils

Kevin Pietersen, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Ross Taylor, Jaydev Unadkat, Rahul Sharma, Jimmy Neesham, Siddharth Kaul, Wayne Parnell, Rahul Shukla, HS Sharath, Milind Kumar, Imran Tahir

Kings XI Punjab

Cheteshwar Pujara, L Balaji, Murali Kartik

Kolkata Knight Riders

Jacques Kallis (retired), R Vinay Kumar, Manvinder Bisla, Debabrata Das, Sayan Sekhar Mondal

Rajasthan Royals

Brad Hodge, Unmukt Chand, Iqbal Abdulla, Kevon Cooper, Ankit Sharma, Amit Sharma, Ankush Bains

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Yuvraj Singh, Albie Morkel, Parthiv Patel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ravi Rampaul, Sachin Rana, Shadab Jakati, Tanmay Mishra

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.