Delights and drama at the Imana Wild Ride

2010-08-07 00:00

THE 11th edition of the Imana Wild Ride took place on the full moon during the last week of July. Race honours went to three-time defending champ Nick Floros and new partner Iain Don-Wauchope (W-Squared/Mountain Splendour), while Jane and Ian Seggie (Without Kids) were winners of the mixed category.

One hundred and sixty riders set off on the first stage between Kei Mouth and Kob Inn.

Floros and Don-Wauchope controlled the pace and won the stage just two seconds ahead of Tyrone White and Sean Merredew (Russell White Racing).

Despite their handicapped start from the third batch in stage two, the Team Jeep duo showed grit and determination to ride through the field into first place and break the two-hour mark. White and Merredew had the legs to power up the testing climb from the beach to The Haven Hotel and claim a few seconds from Floros and Don-Wauchope, leaving them a narrow 20-second lead.

Stage three saw Floros and Don-Wauchope reclaim one minute to win the stage from White and Merredew.

The leading team preserved their lead on stage four to ride home to a hard-won overall victory in an accumulated time of 10 hours, 28 minutes and 50 seconds. White and Merredew were second. Riding in honour of the legendary Graeme Pope-Ellis, Martin Dreyer and Lloyd Darby moved into third place overall.

In a combined effort between WREC (Wild Ride Education Company) and Imana Foods and the Wild Ride, four classrooms equipped with desks, chairs and blackboards were handed over at Ntekelelo Junior Secondary School near Hole-in-the-Wall on Thursday afternoon.

A further R300 000 was raised, which will go towards improved educational facilities during the course of the next year.


Overall: Nick Floros & Iain Don-Wauchope (W-Squared/Mountain Splendour) 10h28.50, Tyrone White & Sean Merredew (Russell White Racing) 11h11.41, Martin Dreyer & Lloyd Darby (Pope’s Partners) 11h42.23, Steve Stamp & Glen Haw (Imana Farmers) 11h55.31, Peter Smith & Willie Brink (Team Jeep) 12h02.36.

Mixed: Jane & Ian Seggie (Without Kids) 13h05.53, Lindsey Chicken & Bjorn Vye (Blue Flag) 13h07.09, Ann Harrison & Paul Jacobs (Team Giant) 13h46.39

Huge field, top racing at Illovo Eston MTB

The Illovo Eston MTB Challenge attracted a huge field of 3 000 riders who gathered at the Eston Club last Sunday.

Pietermaritzburg’s Brandon Stewart was unable to react as Melt Swanepoel surged on the final hill. Stewart hung on grimly for second place, with KZN’s exciting talent James Reid taking the final podium position.

Cherise Taylor (20) was the winner of the women’s event with Candice Neethling (18) second and Yolandi Du Toit third, a further eight minutes behind.

The 40 km aQuelle half-marathon was won convincingly by Kyle Dorkin, with Matthew English taking second. Pietermaritzburg’s Murray Starr came third. In the women’s race Hayley Smith prevailed over the experience of Allegra Wykerd.


The third event of the Time Freight Multisport Series takes place at Baynesfield Estate tomorrow morning.

The full course MultiSport event comprises a five kilometre trail run, 20 km MTB and five kilometre paddle while the short course is made up of a 2,5 km trail run, 10 km MTB and 2,5 km paddle. The MultiX event caters for the non-paddlers and comprises a five kilometre trail run, 20 km MTB and 2,5 km trail run and also offers a half-distance event.

(Info, and entries on

• Participants of the N3TC Karkloof Adventure Quest next Saturday (August 14) can hike, bike and zipline their way through the pristine mistbelt forests and farmlands of the Karkloof Valley. (Information on or Contact: Active Escapes - Sarah Drew at 084 240 7277 Enter online on

• The Momentum Health / I-Flex National Duathlon Series takes place at Giba Gorge next Sunday (August 15). This will be an off-road event involving a five kilometre run, followed by a 20 km cycle and then a final 2,5 km run. With an excess of R295 000 in prize money, this elevates the series to one of the richest in South Africa.

(Entries on; more details on


The Claas Harburg Tour de Krantz takes place this morning from the Harburg Church near Wartburg. Registration is open between 6.30 am and 8.30 am and the first race (45 km) starts at 8.30 am. Late entries will be taken at registration. There are 25 km and 10 km races also on offer. Timing by Mr Price Timing chips is needed.

The Cowan House MTB Classic takes place next Sunday (August 15) from Cowan House School in Hilton. Three races on offer include the 40 km starting at 8.30 am, 20 km starting at 9.15 am and 10 km fun ride at 9.45 am. Pre-entries close on August 11. Enter online on

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.