Dusi champ wins Ngwenya Classic

2010-09-14 00:00

KWAZULU-NATAL paddlers are well into the final preparations for the Hansa Powerade Fish Marathon in Cradock early next month.

This is the first of the big events in the 2010/11 season and has already attracted more than 1 500 entries.

To this end, and despite a number of top paddlers being away for international events, an excellent 578 paddlers turned out on Sunday for the annual Ngwenya Classic in Pietermaritzburg.

The 2010 Dusi winner, Andrew Birkett, teamed up with Mark Mulder to win the race, which was between from Camp’s Drift and the Moto-X Weir in Lincoln Meade.

Another relatively new combination of Nick Burden and Doug Bird took the second spot just over a minute later with Lucas Mthalane and Non-Stop Dusi winner Eric Zondi third.

Lenbethe Canoe Club’s Siboniso Shozi and Mmeli Cele won the boys’ race by almost two minutes from Maritzburg College’s Blaine Beresford and Dewalt Hattingh with another Lembethe crew of Mzamo Zondi amd Scelo Mzolo in third.

Tiffany Kruger and Kelly Howe got back together for a comfortable win in the women’s race from Angelique Mulder and Gauteng’s Sydney Olwagen with the junior crew of Jenna Starr and Jordan Peek in third.

Hazel Little and Caitlin Millar gave Epworth a one-two in the girls’ race with U16s Kate Arnott and Megan Morkel in third place.

Brother and sister Lance and Robyn Kime, on holiday from their studies at Stellenbosch, won the mixed doubles in an excellent 10th place overall and the Masters trio of Rob Humphry, Colin Burden and Dave Griffin led home the seven-boat fleet of K3s.

Good weather and a good flow of seven cumecs thanks to an agreement with Umgeni Water and a lot of hard work on the valves at Henley by the organisers, Ngwenya Canoe Club, made for a great day’s racing with more than 95% of the 320 craft completing the 16 km course.

The race doubled as the selection event for the KZN K2 Development Team to the Fish marathon and this team will be announced later in the week.


Ngwenya Classic

Overall K2. 1. Mark Mulder and Andrew Birkett KIN-UKN 00:59:44, 2. Doug Bird and Nick Burden NAT 1:01:07, 3. Lucas Mthalane and Eric Zondi LEM-UMZ 1:02:31, 4. Shane Millward and Chris Birkett NAT-UKN 1:03:26, 5. Trenton Lamble and Stuart Clifton KIN 1:03:38.

Women: 1. Tiffany Kruger and Kelly Howe UKN 1:10:34, 2. Angelique Mulder and Sydney Olwagen KIN-JCC 1:23:17, 3. Jenna Starr and Jordan Peek(U18) NAT/EPW- EPW 1:26:39.

Boys: 1. Siboniso Shozi and Mmeli Cele LEM 1:04:17, 2. Blaine Beresford and Dewalt Hattingh NAT/MAR 1:06:04, 3. Mzamo Zondi and Scelo Mzolo LEM 1:07:33.

Girls: Jenna Starr and Jordan Peek NAT/EPW- EPW 1:26:39, 2. Hazel Little and Caitlin Millar EPW 1:27:39, 3. Kate Arnott and Megan Morkel(U16) NAT/STA-EWP 1:29:18

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.